September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 12

To learn more about this challenge, please click here.

19-Somethin_Sidebar_Button

12. When did you first have a microwave in your home? Were you afraid that it would make you sick or did you embrace this “new” technology?

I don’t think that my parents got a microwave until sometime after I left home.  David and I had one in our very first house.  My aunts and uncle got Grandma and Grandpa Spence a microwave, which they absolutely did not want.  They were afraid of it, afraid of it causing cancer.  I think the only time it was used was when someone else was at their apartment.  Whether the two were related or not, Grandpa did die consumed with cancer.   Laynie and I were with him when he passed away.

Please add the link to your 19-Somethin’ post in the comment section or to the linky on the challenge page. Thanks!

Please be sure to read David’s 19-Somethin’ post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native, but have been living on the Texas Gulf Coast for 17 years now. David and I have been married for almost 38 years. Our children are grown. We have two grandchildren and one on the way. I try to learn something new every day. My obsession is genealogy/family history research.
This entry was posted in 19-Somethin, September 19-Somethin'. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 12

  1. Pingback: September 19-Somethin’ Challenge – September 12-19 | Zombie Flamingos

Leave a comment