September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 11

To learn more about this challenge, please click here.

19-Somethin_Sidebar_Button

11. What was your favorite music genre when you were young and on what format did you first listen to it?

I grew up listening to country music and really enjoyed it.  Still do.  The first place that I heard it was on my mama’s radio.  She especially loved Charlie Pride’s music.  She really liked the song “Kiss an Angel Good Morning”.  I don’t know what my favorite song was way back then, but I loved listening to Loretta Lynn, Conway Twitty, Dolly Parton, Kenny Rogers, Tammy Wynett, and several others.

Please add the link to your 19-Somethin’ post in the comment section or to the linky on the challenge page. Thanks!

Please be sure to read David’s 19-Somethin’ post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 19-Somethin, September 19-Somethin'. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 11

  1. ghostmmnc says:

    Charley Pride’s songs were always good. I saw him in concert a couple of times when he played the fair here. Funny story… my husband got to play golf with him here one time. He came to play the new Rawls golf course.

    Liked by 1 person

    • How cool that you have seen him in concert and that your husband played golf with him. Who won?

      I don’t know that my mama ever went to any concerts. The only one I remember going to specifically was a Sandy Patti concert. Trace Atkins played at the amphitheater in our home town, but we didn’t go because it was raining. Chad Brock’s bus was at a gas station that we were at. He was asleep inside the bus, according to the one putting the gas in.

      Have you been to any other country music (new or old) concerts?

      Have a blessed day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ghostmmnc says:

    I checked with the mister about the Charlie Pride golfing. He said he didn’t actually play a round with him, but that CP was with his entourage on the tee right behind them, then when they came up, he got to meet him, and got his autograph, shook his hand, and all. 🙂 … I’ve been to a lot of country concerts over the years. My daughter loves going to them, and makes me go with her. I end up enjoying them a lot! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it is cool that he was able to meet him and get his autograph and all that. I know that would have likely sent my mama over the moon. 🙂
      I’m glad that you go with your daughter to the concerts and have a great time. Building memories together is important and its great when they get past the “I don’t want people to know you’re my parents” stage. haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

