September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 4

19-Somethin_Sidebar_Button

4. Did you have a sports hero? Who was he or she and what was their sport?

I have never really been a sports person, so no one was really a sports hero to me, at least not anything above the local level.  David and I went to school with some terrific football players. Dinky, Jerome, Mitch, and a host of others were the stars in our world.

Crescent_Football_1979_Tribute_sm

I tried to find photos of all three of the guys mentioned above, but was only able to find a photo of Dinky. He was an outstanding athlete and was a starter all four years of high school.

Newspaper snippets found at Newspapers.com. Final image by Suzanne G. McClendon.

Please be sure to read David’s 19-Somethin’ post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native, but have been living on the Texas Gulf Coast for 17 years now. David and I have been married for almost 38 years. Our children are grown. We have two grandchildren and one on the way. I try to learn something new every day. My obsession is genealogy/family history research.
This entry was posted in 19-Somethin, September 19-Somethin'. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 4

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Those days were so long ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: September 19-Somethin’ Challenge – September 4 | Zombie Flamingos

  3. Pingback: September 19-Somethin’ Challenge Day 4 – Vanessence

  4. mine were P.T. Usha an Indian sprinter and Martina Navratilova- everyone knows who she is 🙂 I loved Monica Seles too, still rue the thing that happened to her! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment