Share Your World – Week 52

 

cees_share-your-world_041514-sywbanner

What’s your favorite ice-cream flavor?

Dutch Chocolate most of the time. Sometimes, though, I get wild and have Rocky Road or Moose Tracks.

If you were to treat yourself to the “finer things” what would you treat yourself to? 

Well, my David is definitely the “finest thing” in my life, as are my children. Other than that, a genealogical research trip would be a very fine thing, in my opinion. I would love to be able to go back home to South Carolina to visit the plantations and the graves of those that I discovered after we moved out here to Texas. I would love to start on the journey to seeing the final resting places of our 2nd great-grandparents now that we’ve been to all of them for our great-grandparents.  To aid in finding the information still needed about these folks, a complete full-package subscription to Ancestry.com, Fold3, and several other genealogy services would be great, but is a splurge that I’m a long way from affording.

Have you ever been drunk?

Though I am ashamed to admit it, yes, I have been drunk on several occasions. My daddy was an alcoholic and kept a bottle of Smirnoff Silver Vodka at his bedside. It was from his bottle that I took my first drink. Regardless of what folks say, vodka is not odorless. I don’t know how my parents never noticed Daddy’s vodka on my breath. I didn’t get drunk at that point, though. It was just a taste here and there. I was older, in college, probably 18 years old the first time I got drunk. I don’t remember the occasion.  I think the drunkest that I have ever been was at a bachelor party and, boy, was the ride home from that an adventure. I could see and hear myself being stupid, but had absolutely no motivation to stop myself. I’m sure I scarred my little sister for life on that night with some of the things I said.  She’d never heard those words come out of my mouth, nor had she ever seen me drunk before.   I no longer drink, nor have I been drunk again, in many, many years.

Complete this sentence: My favorite supposedly guilty pleasure is… 

I feel guilty pretty much if any money is spent on me for anything.  So, I would have to say the basic Ancestry.com subscription and Newspapers.com subscriptions that I have are my guilty pleasures.  Pretty much I need these to breathe – family history/genealogy is my life’s passion – but I still feel guilty about having them.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful to have had our daughters here with us and being able to talk to Davey for a little while.  I am also grateful for the gift of life that has been given to me through Jesus Christ.  He came in such a lowly way to this earth, went through horrible things, died a horrible death, and then rose again that I might have eternal life. What better gift is there?

I am looking forward to learning more about my family relationships and finally discovering the common ancestor between David and myself.  I’m on the trail and can’t wait to get the answer!

Please be sure to read David’s Share Your World post over at Random Thoughts and Observations!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native, but have been living on the Texas Gulf Coast for 17 years now. David and I have been married for almost 38 years. Our children are grown. We have two grandchildren and one on the way. I try to learn something new every day. My obsession is genealogy/family history research.
This entry was posted in Cee's Challenges, Cee's Share Your World, Family History, Share Your World and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Share Your World – Week 52

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Yes, I remember the night of the bachelor party. The groom elect did not show up for it. The rest of us had fun. I am glad you can do your family tree research. I love you, my Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this week. See you next year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment