OctPoWriMo: Day 17

To learn more about this challenge, please click here or click the butterfly image at the bottom of this post.

Surrounded by my enemies,
A banquet laid before me,
I walked down the forever aisle
To the one who adored me.

The token now on my finger,
His surname given to me,
He vanquished the opposition,
This man who did adore me.

He keeps at bay the hostile hearts,
His love it does sustain me.
Savory and familiar,
This man who still adores me.

©17 October 2016 Suzanne G. McClendon

david_fb_profile_photo_450

David & Suz ©2014 Suzanne G. McClendon

 

octpowrimo_butterfly

I am also participating in JNW’s Halloween Challenge over at PS Annie! Please hop over there to see the post of the day.

Please also visit David over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native, but have been living on the Texas Gulf Coast for 17 years now. David and I have been married for almost 38 years. Our children are grown. We have two grandchildren and one on the way. I try to learn something new every day. My obsession is genealogy/family history research.
This entry was posted in OctPoWriMo, Poetry, Poetry Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to OctPoWriMo: Day 17

  1. eschudel says:

    I just wanted to say how much I love your picture – beautiful!!

    Like

    • Thank you!

      If I remember correctly, it was taken about the time that Davey graduated from Marine boot camp (Fall 2014). It is one of my favorite recent pictures of us. A lot has changed since it was taken. David’s beard is longer. He doesn’t plan to shave it until Davey comes back to us. It won’t ever get shaved if our youngest daughter has her way. She told her daddy that he’d better not ever shave it. My hair is a lot grayer now. 🙂

      Thank you again for your sweet comment. I appreciate it very much. Have a blessed evening. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    I really like this. I hope i can live up to your vision in the poem. Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rosemawrites says:

    awwwwwwwww. i cannot help but feel “kilig” for you two! May God continue to bless your marriage. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Davy D says:

    Beautiful poem Suzanne. True love shines through this poem and the picture. Blessings to you both.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: JNW’s Halloween Challenge: Treats – Jennifer Nichole Wells

  6. A lovely poem! I envisioned a lady with her knight in shining armour!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment