Word-High July – Kilig

Please visit here to learn more about this 30-day challenge.

july-1

Kilig is the Filipino word for “butterflies in one’s stomach”.

                                                   ©2004-2016  Suzanne G. McClendon

I have had this happen on many occasions, being so excited or nervous that my body didn’t know what to do with the feelings, so that butterfly-fluttery tickle in the tummy took over. Sometimes that feeling is as overwhelming as what caused them in the first place. That has been the case for me quite a bit lately.

I had them each time I started a new school and the day that I graduated high school.

I had them on our first date, when David proposed to me, and the day that we got married.

I had them along with morning sickness each time a pregnancy was announced.

There have been so many changes and are so many potential changes to come that I don’t know where or how to settle my heart and nerves, hence the constant tickle that isn’t necessarily funny or fun.

Have you ever had butterflies in your stomach?

Disclaimer: These Filipino word images are from an article by Isabelle Laureta on BuzzFeed titled “36 Of The Most Beautiful Words In The Philippine Language”. All credit goes to them.

Please be sure to visit David at: Random Thoughts and Observations.

Please also visit Rosema, our Word-High July hostess, at: Word-High July.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native, but have been living on the Texas Gulf Coast for 17 years now. David and I have been married for almost 38 years. Our children are grown. We have two grandchildren and one on the way. I try to learn something new every day. My obsession is genealogy/family history research.
This entry was posted in WordHighJuly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Word-High July – Kilig

  1. rosemawrites says:

    awwww. you shared a lot of treasured moments here, Suzanne! 🙂 I am glad this world inspired such a personal and a happy post, too! ❤

    Looking forward to more! ❤

    -Rosema

    Liked by 1 person

  2. maria says:

    Awwe… How lovely to know how those butterflies remained even after all those years. ❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. r_prab says:

    Butterflies keep following us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment