OctPoWriMo: Day 26

To learn more about this challenge, please click here or click the butterfly image at the bottom of this post.

Today’s prompt is: Abandonment.

Suggested poem style: Epitaph.

woman-699718_octpowrimo_abandonment_750_2

 

octpowrimo_butterfly

I am also participating in JNW’s Halloween Challenge over at PS Annie! Please hop over there to see the post of the day.

Please also visit David over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

Image Source: Pixabay.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native, but have been living on the Texas Gulf Coast for 17 years now. David and I have been married for almost 38 years. Our children are grown. We have two grandchildren and one on the way. I try to learn something new every day. My obsession is genealogy/family history research.
This entry was posted in Grief, Loss, OctPoWriMo, Poetry, Poetry Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to OctPoWriMo: Day 26

  1. Davy D says:

    Fantastic words and take on the words Abandonment Suzanne. The poem and the picture are haunting. I love the last line. Have a blessed day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Davy. I’m glad that you like it. I had a poem chosen from my archives to use for today, but this one decided to be born instead. The poem came easier than the picture. There were so many good images found during the search. This one seemed to speak to me the most. She just looks so very sad.
      Thanks again. I hope that you have a blessed day, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Sad and heartbreaking.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sad and all too true in many cases. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jade M. Wong says:

    Oh…this was heartbreaking 😦 Great poem, Suzanne!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: JNW’s Halloween Challenge: Skeleton – Jennifer Nichole Wells

Leave a comment