Word-High July: Kundiman

Please visit here to learn more about this 30-day challenge.

july-20The day that I turned 16 years old, I had my first official date. My first official date was with David, who is now my husband. We went to see the movie Endless Love.  The movie’s theme song of the same name became one of “our songs”.  It is still our song, but there have been many others added to the collection since then.

Open Arms” was the song that was to be sung at our wedding, but there were rules against secular music in the chosen church.  So, instead, one of our minister friends sang “There is Love“.

A love song of a different type was my very favorite throughout my childhood. I requested it every Sunday at church. The song was “The Old Rugged Cross“.  It speaks of the love of our Heavenly Father for us, a love so deep that it brought His Son from Heaven to die on an old rugged cross for our sins, so that we might have life eternally.

 

Please visit David’s blog Random Thoughts and Observations.

Please also visit our hostess Rosema over at Word-High July.
Disclaimer: These Filipino word images are from an article by Isabelle Laureta on BuzzFeed titled “36 Of The Most Beautiful Words In The Philippine Language”. All credit goes to them.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native, but have been living on the Texas Gulf Coast for 17 years now. David and I have been married for almost 38 years. Our children are grown. We have two grandchildren and one on the way. I try to learn something new every day. My obsession is genealogy/family history research.
This entry was posted in WordHighJuly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Word-High July: Kundiman

  1. rosemawrites says:

    awww. those special songs, i believe, hold very special memories of your love. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Davy D says:

    A nice post Suzanne. It has got me thinking about the songs that have shaped my life. Thank you for sharing and have a good day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just Simply Linda says:

    We were discussing the other night what our song was…and do you know, neither of us could think of it? How sad is that? My husband said he thinks we didn’t have one and perhaps that is why neither of us knows, lol…I remembered there was a song from the Urban Cowboy movie, Could I have this Dance? We both agree, Amazing Grace is our song now…and Victory in Jesus. I can not get thru Amazing Grace without breaking down…just saying. smiles

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maybe you can’t remember a song because you were each others song. 🙂
      I like the song “Could I Have This Dance?” Amazing Grace is a beautiful and tear-jerker of a song. We had it played on the bagpipes at my father-in-laws funeral almost 30 years ago. I can’t hear it without crying, either. Victory in Jesus is a great song, too! Have a blessed day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It makes me sad that your church wouldn’t allow any secular music, even songs with such a beautiful message as the one you wanted. Like you, I will always carry a special affinity for the hymns. Have you heard “O the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus”? It is one of my all-time favorites and I think you would like it, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. maria says:

    Awwee.. this is truly sweet. ❤ ❤ ❤ Lots of love in this post.!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment