Friendly Fill-Ins

Happy Anniversary, David. I love you!

This is a fun meme co-hosted by 15 and Meowing and McGuffy’s Reader. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_Badge 

Here are the fill-ins:

  1. My favorite part of November is __________.
  2. Every November, I ________________________.
  3. For me, peace ____________________________.
  4. So far, my upcoming holiday plans ________.

Here are my responses:

My favorite part of November is today. Thirty-three years ago today, David and I were married after being engaged for about three years.

Every November, I/we have an anniversary, though it isn’t always celebrated in a way we would have chosen. Five years ago today, we were in a hospital room in the city, with David recovering from an amputation. He was literally on death’s door when he went into the hospital on 2 November 2012. He smelled like a corpse. They said he would have been dead within two days had I not gotten him there when I did. I tried much sooner, but he felt so rotten, he didn’t want to go. Then, once he was convinced to go, the doctor’s office was refusing to see him. I stood my ground and they saw him and sent him straight to the ER at the hospital in the City.

For me, peace is generally elusive. I have the peace that Heavenly Father has it all under control. No problem there. It is this whole earthly bit and some humans that mess with the other levels of peace. But, it is all good. I know that He is growing a rose in the messy garden called my life.

So far, my upcoming holiday plans are totally up in the air. We don’t know who to expect, when, if anyone, ever. David, Laynie, and I will be here. It’s anybody’s guess on anyone else.

 

Have a blessed weekend, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins, Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins

  1. foguth says:

    Happy anniversary!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kiwinana says:

    Happy anniversary, hope you have many more together.
    You are like me and my husband, we only plan each day once the day arrives, with both of us having cancer, you never know what tomorrow brings.
    Happy days together. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Elsie, I pray many more for you and your husband, too. It has been a great day so far. 🙂
      You are definitely right. We don’t know what tomorrow will bring or if it will even come. We take what we have now and must make the best of it, no matter what it holds…or lets go of. I hope you both are brought many more tomorrows and that Heavenly Father brings healing to you both.

      Have a beautiful weekend. {{{Hugs}}}

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Suzanne,

    How very strange. I know I came by and visited you on Friday, even left a comment but it’s not showing. You may want to see if it shows in your Moderation or Spam folder. Sometimes I find real blogger comments in mine. Have a good week, my friend and thanks for visiting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I’ll see if I can figure out what’s going on. I remember approving a comment from you for the Fill-Ins, too. I don’t know what could have happened to it.

      Have a blessed week. 🙂

      Like

    • Hi Cathy,

      I figured it out. You made your response on my PS Annie! blog, not here on McClendon Villa. 🙂 I generally post the Fill-Ins on both blogs, Wednesday Hodgepodge just on PS Annie! and Friday’s Hunt just here on McClendon Villa. I don’t always get to Hodgepodge or the Hunt, but I almost always write the Fill-Ins.

      Have a blessed week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

