2017 September Challenge: Back Where I Come From – Day 25

2017_September_Challenge_McClendonVilla_500_zpsxnn2m480

For more information on this challenge, click here.

25. What is your hometown known for? In other words, what makes it special?

It is called The Electric City.  You can read about how it got that nickname here on SCIWAY.

 

Please join the challenge by either sharing a link to your challenge post in the comments or answering in the comment section. Please visit David’s post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

Please visit these other challenge participants, too!

Cottage by the Sea

Just Simply Linda

Obsolete Childhood

Ramblings of a Writer

Teleportingweena

Thoughts from Rosebud Lane

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, 2017 September Challenge, Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 2017 September Challenge: Back Where I Come From – Day 25

  1. Suzanne,

    I don’t believe my hometown is known for anything. The closest I can get to is the county I grew up in is known as the home of the Rocket Boys made famous by Homer Hickam’s novel turn movie “October Sky”. However, living in Knoxville for 38-years then this feels more like our hometown in which she earned the nickname of “The Marble City” in the early 1900s. Knoxville was one of the largest marble distributors in the country at the time and I wrote briefly about it in a past Wordless Wednesday post from 2014. Knoxville and all of East Tennessee knows all about hydroelectric power with its many lakes and dams used to produce power by Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) based here in Knoxville. TVA is the reason we moved here. This was the first job DH had after college. Thanks for sharing and have a good day!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Cool! Did your hubby enjoy his job with the TVA?

      Thanks for the link to your post. I’ll get over there shortly to read it.

      Thank you for sharing, too, Cathy. Have a blessed day. 🙂

      Like

      • Suzanne,

        Yes, DH liked working for TVA. It was an excellent place in the early years. In downtown Knoxville, TVA has twin towers that once contained more than 10k (I think that’s right) employees but after the big RIF (reduction in force) in the mid-80s things went downhill. Now, much of the work is done out-of-house and even now DH has his hands on TVA jobs because his employer is basically a contractor doing utility work for big outfits such as them. I’d say it’s still a good place to work but very different from the early years when he worked there.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Suze says:

    http://suziland.net/2017/09/back-come-day-25 there it is..although, Like Cathy, I feel more where I live now is my hometown than Springfield ever did. I have only been here going on four years, yet I felt at home the minute I first visited. Enid is known as the starting place of the land run. This town is the reason the state got the nickname of “sooners” as a few (hundred) people snuck out to stake their spots before the official race began. We are also known for the first sod house on the plains…and it is still in existence. it’s funny to see a sod house inside another building…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll bet that is an interesting sight!

      I think it is wonderful that you felt so at home there in Enid right off. I kind of felt that way the first time I came to Texas, so we moved here. Then, once we were here, Texas said, “I was just foolin'” haha.

      Thanks for sharing your link. I will be there shortly. Have a blessed day. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Back Where I Come From – Day 25 | teleportingweena

  4. ghostmmnc says:

    Happy Monday! 🙂 Here’s my answer to question # 25: http://wp.me/p3RE1e-3JH

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

