Friendly Fill-Ins

This is a fun meme co-hosted by 15 and Meowing and McGuffy’s Reader. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_Badge 

Here are the fill-ins:

  1. I would never be friends with someone who _____________________.
  2. I will never refuse ___________________________________________.
  3. I have never been to _____________________ , but_______________.
  4. When it comes to _________________, I ________________________.

 

Here are my responses:

I would never be friends with someone who I knew was molesting children or purposely being cruel to dogs and kitties, or any other animal for that matter.

I will never refuse shrimp nor cheesecake.

I have never been to Ireland, but I would love to be there someday. Notice that I did not say “travel there”; I said “be there”.  I don’t have any desire to go through the TSA peek and poke to go anywhere.

When it comes to making decisions, I have a difficult time making them. Usually the case is way more choices than money. I get buyer’s remorse and guilt before I even hit the “Buy Now” button and end up not getting anything a lot of the time. I talk myself out of buying something that I really, really want because it isn’t necessarily practical, can’t spend like that on myself, we need something else more, etc., etc., etc. This is a throwback to my childhood when Mama made sure that I knew I wasn’t worth spending the money on and that it was a great inconvenience that she had to spend anything on me at all.

 

Have a blessed weekend, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friendly Fill-Ins, Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins

  1. Suzanne,

    Your first answer is similar to Annie’s. Cruelty comes in many forms and taking advantage of a kid sexually is pretty darn low and I have no place for men/women who subject a child with their warped minds. I get sex everyone likes it….BUT with a child?! Nope, I can’t understand that at all. That’s just SICK!

    There was a time when I would never refuse shrimp but these days I’m not too crazy about it or other seafood. However, I totally agree with never refusing cheesecake. Yum! Mez wants some now. Do you have some to share with me?

    Travel headaches is just one of the issues I have with traveling abroad. The other thing is fear of air or boat travel. There are more auto accidents than plane or boats wrecking and yet I’m more scared to of these than to get in a car. Just call me “Nuts” I reckon. 🙂

    Life is too short to not enjoy. I totally understand those feelings of “this isn’t practical or I can do without because….” when money is low but you’re definitely worth it and should never feel like you aren’t. Try to splurge on yourself a little once in awhile. I’m sorry you were made to feel poorly as a child. That’s a bad feeling.

    One more thing, please add my uncle’s wife, Sharon Hagerman, to your prayers. She’s in the hospital on a ventilator with double pneumonia. The short of it I think her Lupus is the culprit. I’m concerned. This doesn’t sound good but I know with God all things are possible!

    Thanks for sharing your responses. Have a good weekend, my friend and be blessed!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I don’t understand how people can get their jollies with children like that either. Yes, it is most definitely sick!

      Why do you think you don’t like seafood so much anymore? If I had some cheesecake, I’d certainly share it with you. 🙂

      I don’t think you’re nuts at all. At least in most car accidents, you’re already on the ground, unlike being in a plane falling from the sky!

      Thank you. I do splurge sometimes on myself, but I guess I will always feel guilty when I do that. Some things are just hard to let go off, I guess.

      I will definitely pray for your aunt. I am so sorry that she is so very sick. Pneumonia is scary stuff. I will tell David, too, and we’ll both be praying. Please keep me posted on how she is. {{{Hugs}}}

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I hope that you have a blessed weekend, too, my friend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. foguth says:

    Great answers, but am so very sorry to hear how your mother made you feel.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    Great answers! I agree with # 1 a hundred percent. I’d never refuse cheesecake, either! As to travel, wouldn’t it be nice if we could just ‘be’ there by thinking of it. … I’m the same about buying things, too. When I’m out shopping, I put stuff in my basket I want, then talk myself out of most of it in the end. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Barbara. 🙂 YES! It would be absolutely great to be able to travel just by thinking of it. Just think of the savings in gas and time. It would be wonderful. Of course, then we’d have to be even more about what we were thinking about. haha

      What is one thing you’ve talked yourself out of buying that you really, really wanted?

      Have a blessed weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      • ghostmmnc says:

        Oh yeah, guess we’d have to have some code or something, if we actually wanted to be a certain place, otherwise we’d get whiplash from just thinking of places, and zooming off here and there so fast. 🙂 Let’s see…things I’ve put back, because I really don’t need them, would be books, for one. I gather up a bunch at the book store, then put most of them back, for another day. At yard sales it would be purses. I don’t need any more, but want them. Just odds and ends of more of what I already have, like cute notebooks to write in. I have so many, but it’s hard to resist getting more. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • We’d also have to find a way to make sure the thinking only affected where we were going. Otherwise, there might be an awful lot of folks going to you-know-where just because we thought it!

          You have named my top three obsessions…we must be sisters of sorts. haha I love purses/tote bags, books, and notebooks, too, and have way more of all of them than I truly need. 🙂

          Have a blessed day!

          Liked by 1 person

  4. 15andmeowing says:

    Thank you for participating, you always have great answers. I completely agree with #1. I hope you get to go to Ireland in the near future. XO

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My answer to #1 was similar. I cannot tolerate hurting others, in any way. I like shrimp. You are in an excellent place for it! Gulf shrimp! Cheesecake is good, too. My heritage includes Irish, Scots, English and Welsh. I would not mind visiting these places. Of course, Shelties are from Scotland, so that is fun, too. Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We have a similar heritage, then. I think I have all 4 that you mentioned, as well as Native American (Cherokee), German and Middle Eastern (according to the DNA test). I had no clue until that test that I have Middle Eastern DNA. It was an interesting surprise.

      What is your favorite kind of cheesecake?

      Have a blessed week.

      Like

      • Along with the ones I mentioned, I have Cherokee, German, and Dutch ancestry. I have read that most everyone has Middle Eastern heritage of some kind, because of Biblical roots. I have never done the DNA testing.
        As for cheesecake…yes, please. I like it all!
        I hope you are having a peaceful week.

        Liked by 1 person

        • The week is going okay. I hope the same for you.
          I like pretty much all cheesecake, but I think my favorite is either cherry or strawberry cheesecake.
          I think the DNA testing is very interesting, but also very confusing because we don’t necessarily share DNA with a blood relative. That just seems freaky to me. I can’t argue with them, though. This is all over my head!
          Have a blessed weekend, Annie. 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

