2017 September Challenge: Back Where I Come From – Day 22

2017_September_Challenge_McClendonVilla_500_zpsxnn2m480

For more information on this challenge, click here.

22. Did you have chores when you were a kid? What were they? What did you think about having chores? What was your least favorite chore? Is it still?

Yes, I had chores. I had to wash dishes and mop the floors. Our Wellington Street house had wood floors.  I didn’t mind mopping them, so long as they had been swept properly first. Sweeping was my little sister’s job.  I hated washing dishes, especially after we got older. There was always an excuse for her not to do her part of the dishwashing and I would end up having to do her share, too. Yes, it is still my least favorite chore.

I think that it is good for kids to have chores. They need to learn how to run a house and chores are a part of that. It helps to teach responsibility. A family is a team, or it should be.  Teams work together for the good of the whole team.  It shouldn’t be that one person does everything while other people do nothing and that includes the children.

Please join the challenge by either sharing a link to your challenge post in the comments or answering in the comment section. Please visit David’s post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

Please visit these other challenge participants, too!

Cottage by the Sea

Just Simply Linda

Obsolete Childhood

Ramblings of a Writer

Teleportingweena

Thoughts from Rosebud Lane

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, 2017 September Challenge, Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 2017 September Challenge: Back Where I Come From – Day 22

  1. Pingback: Back Where I Come From, Day 22 ⋆ Obsolete Childhood

  2. Suze says:

    you and me both. I hate doing the blasted dishes. If there were a way to get cheap disposables, that’s the way i would go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It would definitely be easier that way, that’s for sure! It is a hot job, no matter how good the A/C is, and it keeps my fingernails wrecked and my hands all dry. Plus, thanks to arthritis, it hurts to hold them and I am dropping more and more these days. Paper plates don’t generally smash to smithereens all over the kitchen floor. 🙂 Cheap disposables would be an excellent thing for them to come up with!
      Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Like

  3. kiwinana says:

    Hi Suzanne, Very true chores in a home are good for the young ones to learn, I don’t think there is enough of it these days, as some of the young adults have got no idea about housekeeping.
    Here is my post. https://ramblingsofawriter2016.com/2017/09/22/mcclendonvilla-september-2017-challenge-day-22/
    Blessings have a nice weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Elsie, Thank you. A lot of parents these days are afraid to actually be parents and have expectations of their children. It is a “poor little picked on” society these days. Some people equate having a child carry a bag into the house as a form of child abuse. There shouldn’t be a society where parents are afraid to be parents.

      When David and I were in college, there was a boy there that didn’t even know how one got food. He had never been to a grocery store. His family had servants that took care of everything. He was totally clueless about the simple basics of life. That is very sad!

      Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Back Where I Come From – Day 22 | teleportingweena

  5. ghostmmnc says:

    Here’s my entry for Day 22: http://wp.me/p3RE1e-3IA … Tried to remember our chores… couldn’t remember very many, though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

