Friday’s Hunt

Friday’s Hunt can be found over at Eden Hills.  How about joining in the fun? Click here to learn more about it.

The prompts for this week are:

  1. Starts with E
  2. Drop(s)
  3. Happy

I had to go to my Instagram feed for today’s pictures due to lack of time to take new ones for the prompts.

Starts with E:

Eggs_14-Oct-2016

Eggs ©14 October 2016 Suzanne G. McClendon

Drop(s):

Library_Rose_16-April-2015

Library Rose ©16 April 2015 Suzanne G. McClendon

Happy:

Atlanta_1984_David-Suzanne

Pre-Wedding Shopping Trip to Atlanta – David E. McClendon and Suzanne Gunter ©1984 Merle M. McClendon

 

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Challenges, Friday's Hunt, Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Friday’s Hunt

  1. Jim says:

    Nice looking pair, Suz. Happy couples spread happiness, makes us all happy. Well, most. Your egg group is timely, our young bird was in the flower bed with Mother this morning. I hope it will soon fly. No picture, yet.
    ..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Jim. The young birds are fun to watch, especially as the little bird families interact with each other. Our cardinals have another batch of babies that are now flying around the yard. I got a few pictures of them this morning. I hope you’ll be able to get a picture of your young bird before it moves on. Have a blessed weekend.

      Like

  2. jesh stg says:

    1984 eh? That was right before we came to the USA – you do look happy there!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. …my day always starts with eggs, beautiful drops, stay happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. scotiaspinner says:

    I miss having fresh eggs from hens – I hope to get some next year once we build a coop. Beautiful shot of the rose with the water drops. Keep smiling! Have a happy week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!
      I think that it would be great to have fresh eggs from hens, too. I don’t have a clue how to tell if the egg has been fertilized or not, though. I know there is a process called “candling”, but I don’t know how that all works. I would just like to know the eggs are coming from hens that aren’t being mistreated and we can’t be sure of that at all with store-bought eggs. Best of luck to you with your eggs and coop. 🙂
      I hope that you have a blessed week, too.

      Like

      • scotiaspinner says:

        Well, if you just have hens and no rooster, then none of the eggs will be fertilized, and I might do that just because the roosters can be so noisy. I used to have over 100 chickens on my hobby farm, including some roosters, and I often incubated eggs either with a hen or one of my incubators, and I candled them to look at the growing chicks. It is easily done with a high powered flashlight in a dark room. However, you can’t tell if an egg has been fertilized by candling it until after it has begun to be incubated, either by the hen or in an incubator, and even then not for a few days. As long as you collect the eggs daily and don’t let the hen start to sit on the clutch of eggs, the fertile ones won’t start to develop. In commercial egg operations, sometimes a rooster gets past the screening process when they are young and actually makes it into the egg cages, and they don’t always find them until much later, by which point many eggs will have been fertilized. But the eggs are collected daily, so even if they’re fertile they are still fine to eat and just go into regular processing. A chick cannot start to develop without the incubation. So, I always collected the eggs daily unless I wanted a hen to sit on a nest, and then I just left the eggs in one nest and still collected from the others. Chickens have such great personalities! I do miss having them.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you for explaining all of this to me. I love chickens. I think they’re adorable. When we first moved here, our neighbor had one wandering about his yard. It was a pretty white one. The folks that live there now did have chicks, but gave them away before they went on vacation. There are some beautiful roosters and hens at a very busy intersection in town, with red, green, and yellowish colors on them…so beautiful! When we’re out and about early in the day, we get to hear them crowing. It’s great. 🙂
          Have a blessed day!

          Like

  5. pattisj says:

    Eggs! That reminds me, I need to boil some. What a pretty rose! Love the photo of the two of you. Blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Patti. Those eggs were pretty funny arranging themselves like that. I went in to check on them and they were like that. I told David, “Hey, even my eggs are Monk-ish!” haha
      Pink roses are my favorite. 🙂
      Thank you. That is our most favorite picture of us together.
      Blessings to you, too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Teresa says:

    Creative choice for the boiling eggs. Love the rose. It’s nice to get that glimpse into the past to see you. Thanks so much for joining Friday’s Hunt. Have a great rest of the week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

