Friday’s Hunt

Friday’s Hunt can be found over at Eden Hills.  How about joining in the fun? Click here to learn more about it.

The prompts for this week are:

  1. Starts with B.
  2. Unbalanced
  3. Door

Starts with B:

Mockingbird_1763_web

This bird has great balance! ©2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Unbalanced:

Cardi_Chickadee_1803_500

Both birds are on the same side of the tree. No birds on the other side. ©2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Door:

Doors_0010_web

These are the beautiful doors at the hospital where David gets wound care. This was taken during the Christmas season. ©2016 Suzanne G. McClendon.

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friday's Hunt, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friday’s Hunt

  1. eschudel says:

    Thanks for the link to a challenge I haven’t seen yet – and for posting those great pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim says:

    Pretty bird shots, Suz. I don’t recognize the small brown ones. Are they local? The door seems to help set moods to pleasant. I drove a friend quite often to his wound care appointments as his wife worked at a school. He couldn’t drive as it was his leg that was damaged.
    Oops, comment to Emily below has them being mocking birds. Ours seem larger. I love to hear there chatter when they are a fair ways apart. Sometimes I join in, they cooperate. Maybe “humor” me.
    ..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Jim. The three birds pictured – mockingbird, cardinal, and chickadee – are all regulars here in our neighborhood. This was the first time for a mockingbird to land here while I was outside. The cardinal and the chickadee are here every day throughout the day. We have an older cardinal couple, along with 3 or 4 younger cardinals, one a male of brilliant red. There are at least 3 chickadees and 5 or 6 tufted titmice that live here in our yard along with a family of wrens. A blue jay couple passes through on occasion, but I think there nest was in the next yard over. It is a very active yard out there. The other day, right about 4 pm, there were birds absolutely everywhere. I didn’t know which way I should point the camera because I didn’t want to miss anything. 🙂

      I think it is cool that you sometimes join in their chatter. Our youngest son, now a US Marine, used to talk to the birds, too. He would make the same sounds they were making and they would respond to him. It is a very special memory for me, our time out there enjoying the birds.

      I’m sorry that your friend had/has a damaged leg. How is he doing? Diabetes is always wreaking havoc with David’s feet. He was in a contact cast for about 2 months and his foot healed. Now, it appears to be going downhill again. It is infected, though improving, thanks to antibiotics. He goes back to wound care again starting on Monday.

      Have a blessed weekend.

      Like

  3. …and the doors look unbalanced, a wreath is missing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. scotiaspinner says:

    Lovely stained glass windows beside those doors – and the wreath is such a lovely colourful accent. I am a big fan of the birds, too! We have had to take our feeders down for a while because there is a bacterial bird disease that is running rampant here and it is transmitted easily via feeders, so everybody has taken down their feeders until the epidemic passes. Fortunately there is plenty of food for birds at this time of year so the healthy ones should be fine. Have a great week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. 🙂

      Oh how sad! What is the name of the disease that is going on there? I hope we don’t get it here. How did you get the notice about the disease so that you knew to take down the feeders? I hope if something like that comes to our area, they will let us know.

      What is your favorite bird? I used to choose cardinals for this question, but I’ve grown to love all of the birds that visit our yard and I couldn’t choose a favorite now if I had to. They all have special things about them.

      I hope that you have a blessed week, too. Thank you!

      Like

  5. Teresa says:

    I love how you used birds for both the B and unbalanced shots. Lovely wreath on the door. Thanks so much for joining in Friday’s Hunt. Hope you have a great rest of the week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Teresa. And, like Tom pointed out, the doors work for unbalanced, too, because of the missing wreath. This was a fun one for me especially because I was able to use two of my bird photos from the week. 🙂

      Thanks! I hope that you have a great rest of the week, too!

      Like

  6. pattisj says:

    The mockingbird is showing off his great balance with that stance. That is a lovely door, and the glass panels on the sides are beautiful, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Patti. I love those doors, too, especially in the setting where they are located – in a hospital. They are a nice respite from all of the hospital-y things around.

      I agree about the mockingbird. It has great balance and I’m so glad they’ve started showing up in our yard. 🙂

      Have a blessed day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

