Ten Things of Thankful

Ten Things of Thankful

I learned about Ten Things of Thankful from Ellen over at 15 and Meowing, who learned about it from Messymimi’s Meanderings.  It originally came from the Lizzi Lewis at Considerings and is now maintained by Josie2Shoes over at Ten Things of Thankful blog.

I am thankful for:

1. a backyard full of beautiful birds, squirrels, and other wildlife

2. the “Bird” that has chosen to spend the rest of his life with me

3. Diet Coke, shrimp, cheesecake, and Blue Bell ice cream, onions, and garlic

4.  Zoomie!

5.  our children

6. digital cameras

7. phones that can do everything

8. air conditioning!

9. books

10. Heavenly Father Who loves me

Have a blessed day, y’all!

 

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Blog Hops, Gratitude, Ten Things of Thankful. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ten Things of Thankful

  1. Jo (Fallen Angel) says:

    Love your list, especially about the garden. We have a number of birds come into ours, most of which our little dog likes to see off!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. 🙂
      Dogs are pretty good about convincing the birds to go somewhere else, that’s for sure. Some of the dogs next door have really mean barks and scare the birds away just as I’m getting my picture composed and the lens focused.
      Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hello and happy weekend, Suzanne! I was so delighted to see you linking up with us for Ten Things of Thankful, it’s such an uplifting thing to write about each week! I love your list, little things that are really the big things in our lives!

    It sounds like you have such a lovely yard, we do have some birds here in West Texas, but are more likely to see coyotes and roadrunners, along with the feral cats I feed.

    I think “the Bird” has chosen very well, and I’m sure he would agree with that. ❤

    Everything on your food list sounds great, although I don’t drink Coke anymore, carbonation causes issues, so I live on unsweet iced tea all day long. 🙂 Cheesecake…yum! And Bluebell ice cream is truly the best! What’s your favorite flavor? Papa Bear thinks garlic should go on everything he eats, I’m surprised he doesn’t put it on his cereal! :-))

    Zoomies are so entertaining! Mine get cranked up about mid-morning and we have to have several games of chase before all four decide on a truce and curl up for naps. What a great life!

    Nothing makes us happier than a call or visit from our kids, they hold the biggest piece of our hearts for sure!

    I agree with you about digital cameras and our “phones” that are now really mini-computers. That and the Internet would be the hardest things for me to give up, all the sharing of photos, texts, and Facebook, is fun!

    Air conditioning… oh Lord yes… and along with our infamous Texas heat, you also have humidity to contend with there. We’ve had some here too this season with all of the rain, but I’m not complaining, we are always thankful for rain!

    Books have taught me more about life and other people than anything I ever learned in school. I don’t make as much time to read as I used to, but I need to, I miss it!

    Your #10 is the best one of all, that kind of unconditional love is what keeps us going, and keeps us reaching out to others too! Have a blessed week ahead! XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Josie. I hope that you’re having a great weekend, too. 🙂

      I’m very happy with the very active yard that Heavenly Father has blessed us with. I would also love to come and see West Texas and what is has to offer some day, too. I’ve never seen a roadrunner in person outside of a zoo. We have coyotes here, too. There was on in the Walmart parking lot one night and we hear them often.

      The Bird here says that he does agree with that. 🙂

      I need to get away from the Diet Coke and all soft drinks. It appears that I may have an ulcer and so carbonated beverages are a no-no. I’m now trying to wean myself off of them. In 2010, I did it cold turkey, but I stopped a lot of things that summer that I almost died. This time around, it isn’t so easy. But, I will do it. My favorite Blue Bell flavor is Dutch Chocolate, but I like quite a few of them. Right now, we have both Bride’s Cake and Groom’s Cake in the freezer. Papa Bear and I are the same way, then, because I put garlic on just about everything, too. 🙂

      The kitties are so much fun when they get all revved up like that. I sure do miss our furbabies.

      I agree about the children and when one is out of the fold, for whatever reason, things just are off all the way around.

      I used to be addicted to the computer and they’d have to pretty much pry me away from it, but over the last few weeks, I’ve been able to be away from it more and more. Without freaking out, even. 🙂 I do love the blogging and sharing pictures and seeing how bloggy-land friends are doing and where they live, etc. That is a lot of fun.

      I’m glad that you’ve gotten some rain. We have had it off and on this week. The mosquitoes are horrible, zillions of them. But, we need the rain and they are just part of the package. I hope neither of us ever have to know a Texas summer without air conditioning!

      Oh yes, definitely make more time for reading. It is educational, an adventure that you can hold in your hand. I love how, though books, we can go to places that we’ve only ever dreamed of and be friends with the characters. Books are great!

      Thank you. His love is the best of all and, ultimately, the One that matters most. We are so blessed to be His daughters. 🙂

      Have a blessed weekend, Josie!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. herheadache says:

    Diet Coke, shrimp, cheesecake, and Blue Bell ice cream, onions, and garlic

    Hmm. Interesting combination of things, but I like it.

    🙂

    Welcome to Ten Things.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 15andmeowing says:

    That is a wonderful list of things to be thankful for. I am glad you decided to join Ten Things of Thankful. It is a wonderful idea to list our thankfuls often to see how fortunate we are in this world.XO

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Welcome to the TToT! It is a most excellent bloghop.
    I enjoyed your list, especially Item 6 (no surprise there, lol). One of the things I enjoy about this ‘hop is the variety of geography represented. Makes for interesting posts sometimes, particularly in the more extreme seasons.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mimi says:

    Your list of foods is a good one! So many things can easily make us happy, it’s great to stop and take stock.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Carin says:

    Smart phones is great. It is my everything. I don’t even know where my digital camera is, but phone, I always have.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pat B says:

    Your TToT post is a great summation of your gratitudes, many of which are my own such as #’s 1, 5, 7, 9, and especially #10. My phone is one of the older cell phones, but I put my iPad to good use. I’m sure you are able to use your digital camera capturing so many wonderful photos just in your own yard. We have lots of birds here too, but I suspect what you get in your area are much more colorful. Not all homes in our area have air conditioning, ours being one of them, but with the way our home is structured, even when the days get hot outside, we are able to stay relatively cool inside just by using a floor fan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. 🙂
      I am glad that you’re able to stay relatively cool with floor fans. I can’t imagine trying to endure these Gulf Coast Texas summers without air conditioning. If I had to, I guess I could, but I sure don’t want to have to find out.
      What kinds of birds do you have in your area?
      Have a blessed night. 🙂

      Like

  9. May says:

    My daughter has just purchased an old house. We’ve been stripping lots of wall paper and the a/c has gone out. Oh, my gosh! Do I ever agree with your inclusion of a/c on the list of thankfuls!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ooh, Diet Coke and books – two of my own weaknesses. One is so bad for you…thank goodness books are a positive indulgence!
    Welcome to the Ten Things of Thankful hop!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

