Friday’s Hunt

Friday’s Hunt can be found over at Eden Hills.  How about joining in the fun? Click here to learn more about it.

The prompts for this week are:

  1. Starts with Y.
  2. Week’s Favorite
  3. Splash

Starts with Y:

Sunflower_25-June-2015_frame_500

Yellow Sunflower ©2015 Suzanne G. McClendon

Week’s Favorite:

Squirrel_8179_21June2017_crop_frame_500

Put ’em Up! Squirrel ©21 June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Splash:

Mailbox_Tornado_0450_14Feb2017_500

Mailbox in Ditch after Tornado ©14 February 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon.

Does a mailbox landing in a ditch full of water during a Valentine’s Day morning involving six tornadoes make a splash if there’s no one out there to hear it?

Maybe the tree falling in the woods knows. 🙂

Update, 3:10pm:  Ok, now for the REAL splash picture. A cardinal hopped into one of the water pans that I have out for the critters.  She didn’t make a huge splash, but it was a splash just the same.

Cardi_Bath_8248_23June2017_frame_500

Cardinal:  Can I have some privacy, please?                    ©23 June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friday's Hunt, Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friday’s Hunt

  1. Jim says:

    Nice update, Suz. Does the mailbox make a splash? “How deep is the water, Mama?” I like the Sunflower and the squirrel too. Was the sunflower a weed a domestic?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Jim. This mailbox likes to make a splash more often than it should. I’ve had to stand that thing back up way too many times. When it rains here, the ditches are often filled to the brim and then some.
      All I know about this particular sunflower was that it was at the edge of Mr. Vic’s field. Mr. Vic was a nice elderly gentleman that has since passed away, but he gave me permission to photograph anything in his fields that I wanted to. He had a great stand of cotton growing there one year, too.
      Have a blessed weekend.

      Like

  2. … I can’t wait for the sunflowers to start blooming, what a great squirrel shot, what a mailbox, I like Ms Cardinal.

    Like

    • When do the sunflowers start blooming in your area? I had to pick that mailbox up several days in a row. After the wind knocked it down, it didn’t want to stand up anymore.
      Thank you. I like Mrs. Cardinal, too. She and Mr. Cardinal make a cute couple. Have a blessed weekend.

      Like

  3. Jackie says:

    Darn! Why didn’t I think of my photos of birds in water splashing!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I got very lucky with that one. I’d already pre- made my post with the mailbox. Then, I went out Friday morning to spend time with the birds, and along came Mrs. Cardi to take a bath. Can’t get any luckier than that. 🙂
      Thanks and have a blessed weekend!

      Like

  4. Ralph says:

    Great pics, all…the sunflower is like a solar flare in the field 🙂 The squirrel looks alert and ready for action! I love the cardinal, we don’t often see a female. A nice splash!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!
      I love the sunflowers around here. Once they start growing, they are absolutely everywhere and some are pretty huge.
      I’d never seen a squirrel do that before. There was a sudden noise and its “hand” went up like that. I thought it was pretty funny. I could just imagine it punching the noisemaker.
      The male and female cardinal are very often together here. They have their nest in the corner of the backyard. We’ve had a cardinal couple here for many years. Some mornings it looks like they are arguing. He’ll hop over to her and she’ll turn her back to him and sometimes fly away. I’ve also gotten pictures of their good morning “kisses”, where he’s feeding her. I think that’s so very sweet.
      Thanks again. Have a blessed weekend!

      Like

  5. scotiaspinner says:

    Love the sunflower – they were the “theme” for my wedding 2 years ago. They always make me smile. The squirrel is so cute! I also like your cardinal splash pic, but the mailbox pic is kind of scary – how awful to have tornado damage. Glad you were OK!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sunflowers are a great theme for a wedding. I bet it was a beautiful wedding. 🙂
      We have a yard full of these adorable little squirrels. There were five or six of them out there the other morning.
      Thank you for your kind comments. I don’t know of any injuries to anyone in our town. Other towns weren’t so lucky and had far worse damage. We were very blessed.
      Have a blessed night. 🙂

      Like

  6. Teresa says:

    The sunflower is beautiful. I always enjoy cute squirrel pictures. Never get enough of them. That would be quite the February storm. Hope everyone was safe. Love the lady cardinal. Thanks so much for joining Friday’s Hunt. Have a great rest of your week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, on all counts. 🙂

      It was a very exciting day around here after the tornadoes, that’s for sure. As far as I know, no one was seriously injured, but plenty were scared half to death.

      I look forward to the next round of prompts. I’ll head over now to see what’s next. 🙂

      Have a blessed evening.

      Like

Leave a Reply

