Share Your World

cees_share-your-world_041514-sywbannerWhat is something that people are obsessed with but you just don’t get the point of?

Facebook, duck lips, and “hey, look down my shirt!” selfies!

What quirky things do people do where you are from?

Where I’m from (South Carolina), I don’t know. But here in Texas? There’s all sorts of quirkies going on here! Aside from the arctic blast gear they wear at 70 degrees, they ride their bicycles against oncoming traffic. Back home, bicycles went the same direction as the cars and walkers walked opposing traffic. I will never get used to driving down the road and having a bicycle coming towards me in the same lane. Never. That’s a great way to get killed!

What are some things you wish you could unlearn?

I wish that I could unlearn how to cuss. I don’t do it so much anymore, unless really angered or hurt, but when I was a toddler, sailors had nothing on me!

I wish that I could unlearn hate. I don’t want to hate anybody, but some folks make it particularly easy. I am supposed to love, in spite of how people treat me. This is a very difficult thing to do at times.

Who is someone that you miss having in your life?

Oh this list is so very long…Our daddies, our grandparents, our babies waiting in Heaven, our children that are not here at home with us (our oldest daughter is here), just to name a few.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

These answers are for both Cee’s challenge AND Messy Mimi’s challenge.

I am grateful for…

  1. Nature, even though it makes me sneeze.
  2. Squirrels, even though they have eaten 3 bird feeders so far.
  3. Being able to see the baby wrens again.
Baby_Wrens_7790_19June2017_crop_frame_600

Two Baby Wrens ©19 June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

I am looking forward to more visits from the baby wrens before they move on to wherever they go when they leave their parents.

I am looking forward to more beautiful weather and lots of photo time and HOPING that either my lens will be okay or the birds will come closer to me. The long lens is acting weird and having a difficult time focusing.

I am looking forward to more time with David and Laynie (our oldest daughter) and hearing from Davey and Maggie.

Please be sure to read David’s post over at Random Thoughts and Observations and also visit our hostess Cee over at Cee’s Photography!

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Carolina Wren, Cee's Share Your World, Share Your World, Urban Wildlife and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Share Your World

  1. eschudel says:

    I will never understand the obsession some people have with selfies. Just a sign of the “it’s all about me” era we are living in I guess…Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel the same way. There are very few selfies on my Instagram feed. I do not like to have my picture taken. But, I’ve done a few because it was suggested there need to be pictures of me for future generations to know what I looked like at various stages of life. But, I sure don’t like having pictures of me around.
      I’ve seen some Instagram feeds that are completely, totally selfies. Give me babies, flowers, critters, sure….but every picture a selfie? No thanks.
      I hope that you have a good week, too. 🙂

      Like

  2. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    I don’t understand the need for a woman to show anyone, other than her husband, what is inside her shirt. If that is ALL there is to you, then you need to re-evaluate your life. I love you. Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

