Friday’s Hunt

Friday’s Hunt can be found over at Eden Hills.  How about joining in the fun? Click here to learn more about it.

The prompts for this week are:

  1. Starts with X.
  2. Week’s Favorite
  3. Insect

Starts with X:

Xerxes_blur_web

This is our precious Angel Xerxes not long after we rescued him.  ©2014 Suzanne G. McClendon

Week’s Favorite:

Vampire_Cardinal_11June2017

Mr. Cardinal as a Vampire ©11 June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Insect:

I had fun with this bug hunt!

Bug_15-June-2017_500

Bug ©June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Caterpillar_WeekofJune11-17_2017

Caterpillar ©June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Dragonfly_14-June-2017_500

Dragonfly ©June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Fly_WeekofJune11-17_2017_500

Fly ©June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friday's Hunt. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Friday’s Hunt

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Sweet Angel Xerxes. What a cute boy with Spot. I love you. Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pattisj says:

    Oh, I had to laugh at your vampire! What a shot! I obviously need to get a pet and start its name with an X! Wow, it’s Friday already? Have a lovely weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! These birds are real characters. haha
      I lucked out on the X name. I wish Xerxes was still with us. We lost him 19 October 2015 to feline leukemia. He was just 16 months old.
      Yep, Friday, and now Saturday already and I am way behind on everything blog-related. On top of that, WordPress seems to be hiding my comments from me. I have to keep going into the admin screen to flush’em out.
      I hope that you have a blessed weekend, too. 🙂

      Like

  3. jesh stg says:

    The little kitty is sooo cute! With the X I always go to my browser to ask, because I’m like you: Xerxes and Xmas and Xylophne:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. …is that kitty really named Angel Xerxes? Nice insects, but I could do without the fly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • His real name was Xerxes. “Angel” is because he passed away. Our blogging friends with pets almost always add “Angel” to their pets’ names after they die, so I try to remember to do that, too.

      The fly was being a bit pesky. It first landed on my main camera, so I thought I’d use the phone’s camera to photograph it on the big camera. But, it flew off the Canon and never went back to it, choosing my toes instead. Oh well. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Have a blessed day.

      Like

  5. scotiaspinner says:

    Xerxes was adorable. I’m sorry you lost him so young. Love your insect shots – the dragonfly is really good. It’s hard to get them to sit still for long enough to take pictures! The cardinal shot is perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. He was a precious baby. He loved to sit in my lap. We sure miss him.
      This dragonfly actually stayed still for a very long time. I had on the long lens, so couldn’t get any closer to it really. I was having a great deal of trouble achieving focus lock. I don’t know what is going on with the lens. It just keeps poling for focus, but not locking, at some points, even if the subject is still. If there is the slightest movement around the subject, it won’t lock.

      Thanks! I love that cardinal shot. It isn’t as clear or as close as I’d like, but I am very happy with it. They sure are funny characters. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Have a blessed day!

      Like

  6. Jim says:

    Xerxes,has found a good home, he looks,sooo happy. And such a nice insect collection.
    ..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Jim. I wish we still had our sweet little Xerxes. He passed away due to feline leukemia at 16 months of age. He was, and still is, a much loved little kitty.
      Thank you in regards to the insects, too. I wasn’t sure if the caterpillar qualified or not, but I put it in there anyway.

      The birds aren’t so active out there right now as they had been, so I’m looking around the yard for other things to photograph. There’s almost always a good supply of frogs and creepy crawlies. I’m still waiting for another snake to come along that will pose for me. I’ve had it happen before. Here’s a link to its picture on my other blog, PS Annie!.

      Have a blessed day!

      Like

  7. Teresa says:

    Your little Angel Xerxes was adorable! So sorry to hear his life was so short. Nice capture of the cardinal. Very impressive display of insects. They can be fun and challenging to photograph! Thanks for joining Friday’s Hunt. Hope you have a great rest of the week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Teresa. He was a precious baby. David’s video studio is named for little Xerxes – “Manian Debil Productions”. He looks all innocent in that picture, but he could be a real wildcat. His life was way too short and we sure miss him.
      Thank you. These cardinals are real characters!
      I love trying to photograph bugs, but sometimes it is kind of scary. Once, there was a big green thing on my car, so I decided to try to photograph it. I got lots of pictures until that thing hopped at me and made me drop the phone. haha Thankfully, it didn’t break the phone. 🙂
      I hope that you will continue with Friday’s Hunt. I sure enjoy it. I hope your week is great, too, and the weekend even better. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

