Share Your World

cees_share-your-world_041514-sywbannerWhat do you do when you’re not working? If you are retired, what do you that is not part of your regular daytime routine?

We are technically retired. Well, David is, and I am along for the ride as his wife and caretaker. 🙂 It feels like I’m always working except when I’m outside watching the birds and squirrels. I don’t know that I do anything outside of my normal routine because we don’t really have a normal routine. Very rarely do we leave the house anymore, only for groceries and doctor appointments. So, I don’t have a good answer for this one.

What would you do if you won the lottery?

After tithing, helping the kids, and paying off bills, we’d buy land way out in the middle of nowhere, in a beautiful place, and build a little house to be our final home before we’re pushing up daisies. We’d get that bit taken care of, too, so that when the time comes our kids won’t have to worry about where we want to be permanently parked. Our little house would be solar and wind-powered, minimalist, and have a great garden, too.

What makes you laugh the most?

David and the kids make me laugh.  David is a major goofball and has always been. Things they do often make me laugh, but I can’t think of a specific “what”.

What is your biggest pet peeve with modern technology?

My biggest pet peeve is that, for all of the “connectedness” out there, people are more and more disconnected. People go out to allegedly spend time together, but they are texting or FBing or whatever on their phones, carrying on with some unseen person and neglecting the person/people right there with them.

People are willing to give up in-the-flesh relationships for someone they’ve “friended” from junior high/high school that never gave them the time of day or maybe even was a bully to them back when they were around each other.

It is ridiculous!  Get off the blasted computer or phone and actually SHARE a meal and conversation with the people around you. Don’t just sit there gawking at that blasted screen the whole time like the people around you don’t have any value to you. Because, when you do, that is exactly the message you are sending: You don’t matter to me.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Carolina_Wren_5762_12June2017_Psalm_100_600

I am grateful for a yard full of birds and squirrels and creepy crawlies, especially those that sit still long enough and close enough for me to take their picture.

I am grateful that David made it to his 55th birthday and am looking forward to at least another 55 years.

I am looking forward, always, to making more progress on this house and to the replacement of the fence that the neighbors removed.

Please be sure to visit David over at Random Thoughts and Observations and our hostess Cee over at Cee’s Photography.

Have a blessed week, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native, but have been living on the Texas Gulf Coast for 17 years now. David and I have been married for almost 38 years. Our children are grown. We have two grandchildren and one on the way. I try to learn something new every day. My obsession is genealogy/family history research.
This entry was posted in 2017, Carolina Wren, Cee's Share Your World, Share Your World and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Share Your World

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    A common thread is that people are disconnected from humans and humanity. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment