The Cardinal

I’m linking this post to Saturday’s Critters over at Viewing Nature with Eileen, who hosts this weekly event.  How about joining the fun?

A week or so ago, we put our old gazebo bird feeder back into service.  The squirrels have destroyed all of the tube feeders but one and they are working on that one, too, having already eaten the top of it and the upper two perches.

The cardinals used to visit it years ago when it was originally out there.  I don’t know if the current male cardinal is the same one from back then, but cardinals can live as long as 15 years, so it could be the same one.

I wondered if he would remember this feeder or ever visit it.  I got my answer today.

Cardinal_4895_10June2017_600

Cardinal ©10 June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Have a blessed weekend, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Animals, Birds, Cardinals, Saturday's Critters. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Cardinal

  1. Eileen says:

    Hello, Suzanne! I like the gazebo feeder. Great capture of the cardinal. Those pesky squirrels! Thank you for linking up and sharing your post. Happy Sunday, enjoy your day and new week ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Eileen. Thanks. 🙂

      This cardinal was really funny to watch. He was on the feeder along with a chickadee. He peeked around it at the chickadee, then slowly creeped around and “foofed” the chickadee…fluttered his wings at it until it flew off. Karma visited him a little later. “Eleanor”, the female Brewer’s blackbird, “foofed” him and scared him off a branch.

      One thing that I like about this gazebo feeder is that the squirrels haven’t eaten it yet. The actual lid to it broke while I was trying to clean it, so we replaced it with a plastic butter tub lid. I am really surprised the squirrels haven’t eaten that lid, too, but it still looks fine.

      The squirrels are adorable, but they sure can be destructive. They’ve damaged or destroyed 3 feeders so far.

      Thanks for hosting this fun weekly event. 🙂

      Happy Sunday and a blessed week to you, too!

      Like

  2. It’s always nice when you can recognize the birds that come back. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Vanessence says:

    He’s beautiful! Great picture!

    I’ve read that you need to grease poles and wires on bird feeders if you have a lot of squirrels. They sure are wily, rascally no-good … okay, you run a clean blog so I won’t use the cuss words they inspire in me, lol. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Vanessa. 🙂

      They are rascally, that’s for sure! These bird feeders are hanging from hooks in the open-air potting shed (it has a roof, just no side walls). They climb up the support posts for the shed, onto the roof, then the next thing I know, they are on the feeders. I saw one swinging on the gazebo feeder yesterday. Though it annoys me that they are eating our feeders, I can’t help but laugh when I see them swinging like that. 🙂 One thing not so funny, though, is I’ve seen several fall from the shed roof trying to get to the feeders. I don’t know how they escape getting a broken body part.

      They are destructive, but very cute. And, yes, can inspire not so nice words. haha

      Have a blessed day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

