Friday’s Hunt

Friday’s Hunt can be found over at Eden Hills.  How about joining in the fun? Click here to learn more about it.

The prompts for this week are:

  1. Starts with W
  2.  Week’s Favorite
  3.  Pastel

Starts with W:

W is for Wasp, which has made a home in an old bird feeder on the patio.

Wasp_7June2017_550

Wasp ©7 June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Week’s Favorite:

Headless_Cardinal_7June2017

Where’s My Head? (Cardinal) ©7 June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Pastel:

Several years ago, I subscribed to AfterCapture magazine (I think that was its name!).  One issue included a tutorial for how to create pastels in Photoshop.  I gave it a go with a picture I had taken of a huge, beautiful old tree at Brazos Bend State Park.  This is the result of my attempts to follow that tutorial.

Pastels_BBSPtree2ab_600

Big Tree at Brazos Bend State Park ©2009 Suzanne G. McClendon

 

Please be sure to hop on over to Eden Hills to learn more about this fun sharing adventure. 🙂

Have a blessed weekend, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friday's Hunt. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Friday’s Hunt

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    You done good on the tree. I like the headless bird, too. The Wasp needs some Windex.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great choices for the challenge. They’re all great. Hope you were far away from that wasp.
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

  3. …Suzanne, you could rerun your “W”asp next “W”eek for your insect. Your favorite is a blend of nature. The neat things that you can do in photo shop.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Tom. I am enjoying the Friday’s Hunt. I try to keep the prompts in mind as I’m outside. This wasp conveniently presented itself. I wish it could have been a clearer shot, but it was very close to me and I had the 75-300mm lens on and couldn’t reel it in any further for such a close shot. I would have tried it with my phone, but this thing moved pretty fast into the feeder, so I didn’t have time to change to the phone camera.
      Yes, there are lots of fun things that we can do in Photoshop and the phone apps, too.
      Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Like

  4. scotiaspinner says:

    Your headless bird shot cracked me up – what a perfect moment to click the shutter! I was very interested to see your pastel interpretation – I love tree art!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! This bird (I think it was the lady cardinal) was preening and got in all sorts of weird contortions. I was happy -and lucky- to get this one. I’m glad it gave you a laugh. 🙂

      I love tree art and trees very much. There are some grand old oak trees around here, some with branches that hang so low that they touch the ground and then curve back up. Trees are great!

      Thank you again and have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Like

  5. scotiaspinner says:

    Oh, I forgot to say, the hail wasn’t large enough to cause damage to the car, thankfully!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Jim says:

    Nice pastel tree picture, Suz, really pretty. The poor bird must have or think it has a flee or louse. I would not be taking pictures of the wasp. If my Sony pocket was better at pictures (I’d loved have a nice one of the Strawberry moon tonight or last night) I might to a distance shot. Since we moved to Katy I haven’t seen any anyhow. But we had plenty up in Montgomery.
    ..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Jim. I wish that I could find the tutorial again.

      Several of these birds act like they have fleas or mites or lice. I saw one a few days ago using its foot to scratch, just like a dog. That was really weird. I figured it would have fallen over, but it didn’t.

      I’m cautious around the wasps, but not too scared of them. I’ve only ever been stung by one once and boy was that like a punch in the back. I was pruning branches on one of the trees and didn’t see their nest in the tree. I cut the branch and it fell with their nest. It felt all the world like a big guy had punched me in the back when I got stung.

      I’m glad that you haven’t seen any wasps there in Katy. Maybe they are to Katy like the mosquitoes are to Oklahoma…they know they aren’t supposed to be there. haha

      Have a blessed weekend.

      Like

  7. Teresa says:

    I have seen a lot of wasps this past week. Not sure I’m happy about that, but I haven’t been stung yet. That cardinal really does look headless! I think you did an outstanding job with the edit. I’ve just recently started learning how to use Photoshop. Thanks so much for joining Friday’s Hunt. Have a great rest of the week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Teresa. 🙂 I didn’t remove her head in Photoshop. She was preening/cleaning herself and was working on her back, so her head wasn’t visible. I just got very lucky, snapping at the right time. I have a looooong way to go before I figure out how to smoothly remove a head in Photoshop. I wish that I could figure out how to remove things cleanly because there are so many photos that I take that are ruined by power lines.

      I hope the wasps there will leave you and the critters alone. For the most part, they just fly past me and don’t mess with me. I’ve only ever been stung by one once and that thing sure had a powerful punch! It was like a man pounded his fist into my back it was so forceful!

      Thanks! I hope that you have a great rest of the week, too. I’m already working on the next Friday’s Hunt post. I got another funny cardinal shot. 🙂

      Have a blessed day.

      Like

  8. pattisj says:

    I saw a wasp the other day, I hope it doesn’t live too close by. Funny cardinal pic. Pastels in Photoshop should make a lot less mess than the real thing! Hope you have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope the wasp you saw doesn’t live near you, either. I don’t know how far they wander from their nests. I saw the black wasp again while I was outside this morning. It was headed into the old bird feeder that is waiting for them to leave so that I can clean it and put it back in service. I don’t want to spray wasp spray or any chemical in there as it could leave a residue that could make the bird seed toxic to the birds.

      Just wait till you see this coming Friday’s cardinal picture. haha

      I’ve never worked with pastels outside of Photoshop, but I do want to give it a try.

      I hope that you have a wonderful week, too. Thank you. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

