Saturday’s Critters

Earlier while visiting a Friday’s Hunt post at Birding for Pleasure, I visited one of their other posts titled Saturday Critters- Amsterdam.  Their post led me to Viewing Nature with Eileen, who hosts the weekly event known as Saturday’s Critters.  Of course, I had to play along!

Here is my contribution for today.  I was blessed with another visit by the Pileated Woodpecker.  Not only was I lucky enough to get a few pictures of this beautiful bird, but I caught it with its tongue out. 🙂

Pileated_Woodpecker_3208_2June2017_600

Pileated Woodpecker ©2 June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Pileated_Woodpecker_3209_2June2017_600

Pileated Woodpecker ©2 June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Pileated_Woodpecker_3210_2June2017_600

Pileated Woodpecker ©2 June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

He (or she!) saw me watching and shortly went around to the backside of the tree.  I walked a little closer, and then something loud went up the road. The woodpecker flew away after that.   After the Pileated Woodpecker left, I was blessed with another black and white visitor – a very bashful Downy Woodpecker.

Downy_Woodpecker_3223_2June2017_600

Downy Woodpecker ©2 June 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

No matter where I stood, it kept its head behind a leaf, then it flew away.

I don’t often see either of these woodpeckers in my backyard, so I am very happy when I do!

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Animals, Birds, Photography, Saturday's Critters, Texas, Woodpeckers. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Saturday’s Critters

  1. Eileen says:

    Hello Suzanne, I am so happy you found my Saturday’s Critters and blog. Your Pileated Woodie photos are awesome. I am always thrilled to see these big woodpeckers. The Downy does look a little camera shy. Great post. Thanks so much for linking up and sharing your post. Happy Saturday, enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Eileen. I am happy to have found your Saturday’s Critters, too. 🙂
      Thank you. I wouldn’t want to get on the tree side of that beak. It’s a beautiful woodpecker (both are), but I imagine it could poke my eyes out like they were nothing. 🙂
      I hope that you have a happy Saturday, too, and a blessed weekend.

      Like

  2. Gordon says:

    Love the shots of the woodpecker, I thing we all have to run the gauntlet of the leaves or that twig or that branch, all part of the fun.
    All the best, Gordon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jeanne stone says:

    Lovely shots and this is such a majestic and colorful bird. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so jealous! I love woodpeckers and though I have quite a few downies I never have had a pileated woodpecker!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sorry that you haven’t had a pileated woodpecker visit you. Maybe it will happen. I’d never seen one until last week and now I’ve seen it twice. I was ecstatic to see it the first time, ooh, ooh, oohing all over the front yard. haha Quietly, of course, I didn’t want to scare it off. 🙂 Are your downies bashful, too?

      Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Pretty birds. I love you. Zing! ZIng!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

