Friendly Fill-Ins

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_BadgeHere are the fill-ins:

  1. A law I would like to see passed is ___________.
  2. My favorite card game is ______________________.
  3. With Summer unofficially here, ________________.
  4. A favourite Summer memory is __________________.

Here are my responses:

A law I would like to see passed is one that would ban smoking.  It isn’t just the smoker that suffers. It is their children, their spouses, their neighbors, everyone within breathing range of that cigarette smoke. Too many people are dying awful deaths due to the cigarette smoke of others.  The smokers are choosing an awful death for themselves. The rest of us don’t have a choice but to smell it. People stand right in the doorway of businesses, puffing away. Driving, puffing away with their cigarettes hanging out the window. In the drive-thru, puffing away, smoke so heavy that I can taste it and inflaming my airways to the point that I vomit due to the mucus overload. Since when does their “right” to smoke override my right to breathe?

I want a law such as this passed not just for people like me, already on the death by suffocation road of COPD. I want it for those little kids that are being slowly killed by their selfish parents, for the old people at the mercy of their smoking adult children, and for all that have no choice but to be around people that are making unsafe choices.

My favorite card game is Dr. Pepper and my second favorite is our altered version of Rummy. I enjoy many card games, including Solitaire.

With Summer unofficially here, nothing really changes for me. Every day is much the same: get up, potty run, feed the birds, respond to publicists, blog comments, write posts, read and review books.

A favorite Summer memory is playing outside after dark, catching lightning bugs, and jumping out from behind things trying to scare folks.  That is my favorite childhood memory.

My favorite Summer memory of all time, though, is The Great ‘I Reckon’ Incident of 1981. It involved a park, a merry-go-round, a boy, and a silly Southern girl who was very happy for the attention.

 

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins

  1. 15andmeowing says:

    Thank you for these great answers to the fill-ins. I am 100% with you on the smoking. That is one reason I stopped tutoring , I hated going into homes where people smoked. Lightning bugs are fun, last year one got in the bathroom and it was fun to watch, I eventually released it outside. Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Ellen. I appreciate you and Annie hosting the fill-ins. It is always fun.
      I have some ideas about tutoring to share with you and I will email you later, once we get back home.
      Are the lightning bugs awake in your area yet? I’ve been seeing them for about a month here now. When I saw the first one this year, I was like, “YAYAY!” I don’t know that I’ve ever been that excited by a lightning bug. haha I guess I am reverting back to childhood. 🙂 How cool that you had one in your bathroom. Can you just imagine a bubble bath with lightning bugs for the “candles”? Have a blessed day and a great weekend. 🙂

      Like

  2. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    I reckon you is right. You, Granny-for-Short, and Carl must be kindred spirits. I love you, Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think people will always smoke, because they always have, for centuries. The same way they drink and do other things. It has always been that way. The only thing we can do is avoid it as we can. There are so many things that pollute the air. I am thankful that smoking laws have been passed, though. Your Summer sounds pretty good! Mine involves a lot of work. bleh I do plan to get those in, too, though! Your favourite Summer memories are mostly good ones. I think those are gifts from God. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those summer memories were all very good ones for me.

      Just because people have always done something doesn’t mean it needs to continue or be allowed to continue. Wrong is wrong no matter how many or how long people do it. If smoking were stopped, that would be one less thing polluting the air and our lungs and the lungs of our children.

      My summer has a lot of work ahead, too. It is a full-time job just staying caught up with the publicists. Work can be fun, especially yard work. It is a blessing for you to still be able to do it. Many people cannot and I know they miss doing so. Enjoy that yard work. It will be made easier to endure if you think about the results you will achieve and how blessed you are to have a yard of your own. 🙂

      Have a blessed weekend. Hugs.

      Like

      • I always say just because you can do something doesn’t mean you should. So, I agree. People shouldn’t smoke. I have been hospitalized (ICU) because of smoke. But, I don’t think it will ever change. Human nature is such as that. So, I have learned to deal with it. Maybe you can make changes in laws in your area. Maybe join the town committee or county board. Tell them how this affects you.
        There is little I can do in yard work, Suz. I have a hard time with everything. It is all hard work. Walking is very difficult for me. I use a cane. I play it all down, but my health is not at all good. Bill is the one who does everything like that. I assist by being there, watering plants, little things. But, I am grateful for what I can do though. It could be worse. Always.
        In most things, I try to focus on the positives, rather than the negatives. It makes it easier for others and in the long run, for myself. I don’t want God to think I am ungrateful, either! wink Hugs.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I don’t think it will ever change, either. Many people just don’t care, about themselves or anyone else. It is a selfish world out there.

          I don’t generally go into the depth of my ill health either. For one, nobody really cares, and two, when I have shared the deeper worries, I am accused of “claiming it” or “speaking it into existence”. I know my family’s health history and I know the signs that are happening to me. It isn’t claiming or calling into existence A when you have A. I am being realistic, but they see it as fatalistic. So, pretty much I know that I’m on my own with my health concerns because I’m tired of the judging.

          It isn’t safe for me out there due to the cigarette smoking, but I’m tired of being a prisoner inside my own house while the selfish people get to be out there enjoying life while wrecking others. So, I’m going out in the yard anyway and enjoying the beautiful yard that Heavenly Father has provided for us, enjoying the birds & squirrels, and taking as many pictures as I can until I can no longer do it.

          I am going to die anyway, faster with their non-stop smoking. I may as well get some happy spots in there while I can.

          I’m sure that Bill is very happy to have you there as his helper as he does the harder things. Watering plants is a big thing. They need the water, just as you and Bill, and me and David, need each other.

          Have a blessed evening. Hugs.

          Like

  4. Annie says:

    I agree that it would be nice if smoking were outlawed, but I don’t see that happening. It’s amazing people still do it considering how expensive cigarettes are. I grew up in California but now live on the East Coast. Many more people here smoke than in CA. It’s amazing how many smokers there are here.

    Lightning bugs are so fun to watch.

    Liked by 1 person

    • David says it really makes sense that the East Coast has more smokers because, in the Carolinas, it is such a big cash crop and has very strong lobbyists. Too bad they put money over the health of the families in the area.

      I’ve known since I was a little girl of the dangers of smoking. They taught us about it in school (South Carolina). I can’t imagine anyone not knowing how dangerous it is to smoke or about the dangers of second-hand smoke.

      I just saw a lot of lightning bugs in our backyard…while I was being eaten alive by a gajillion mosquitoes. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Like

  5. Vicki says:

    My husband loved to play Solitaire. I loved catching lightening bugs too. It’s so sad that I don’t see them anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. yvonne473 says:

    I agree about smoking. I wish there were laws against it too. Hope you have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Yvonne. I don’t know what anyone ever saw in smoking. Maybe some day there will be laws against it. We can hope and pray for that and maybe pester the congress folks about it, too.
      Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Like

  7. Suzanne,

    Smoking is a horrible, horrible habit that robs one of his/her health as well as those forced to live in that environment. Whenever we see someone smoking, we’ll hold our breaths until we pass them and we have complained to store managers for having cigarette ash trays to close their entrance. No one should be subjected to other people’s poor decisions. Unfortunately, the innocent are those usually harmed first. Just look at the number of deaths caused by drunk driving?

    Oh, I forgot about the great fun it was to be outdoors late during the summer catching fireflies or playing hide n’ seek. 🙂 Have a good week, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Cathy. I think many of the world’s problems would be solved if people weren’t so selfish and uncaring. When people do these things, smoking and drunk driving, that’s exactly what they’re being, especially when they’ve been informed of the harm they are causing other people. My neighbors have been informed of my health issues. They don’t even care about their own children, so I know they have complete indifference in regards to my health issues. I don’t understand being that way at all, especially when it comes to their own kids.

      Hide-and-seek in the dark was always such fun. It makes my tummy tickle now just thinking about it. haha

      Have a blessed week, too, my friend. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

