Share Your World

cees_share-your-world_041514-sywbannerWhat is the most famous landmark or building you have ever seen?

This is a difficult one. I’ve been to several famous landmarks/buildings.  I guess how famous it is would be determined by the group or person I’m with at the time. The very first place to pop into my mind was Graceland, the estate of Elvis Presley, my 7th cousin 1x removed (according to Ancestry.com’s We’re Related app). I’ve also been to Biltmore House, the Alamo, and lots of locally famous places in South Carolina.

Do you like long vacation or lots of mini-vacations?

I like both!  I’ve only ever had 3 vacations that lasted a week or more in my entire life. Those were:

Our honeymoon in 1984.
A trip out here to Texas in 2002.
Evacuation for Hurricane Rita in 2005.

For the most part, all we ever get to do are day trips anywhere, never really more than a couple of hours from home.

What is your favorite National or State Park?

My favorite state park here in Texas is Brazos Bend State Park. Of course, it is the only state park that I’ve been to here in Texas, so it would have to be my favorite. I would love to some day go to Big Bend National Park.

I went to several state parks in South Carolina. The one that I remember the most was Oconee State Park.  I had a blast there with my siblings when we were kids.  We had no freakin’ clue how to steer a boat.  We went in circles in that canoe for I don’t know how long before we finally made it back to shore. There were what we called paddle boats, but maybe it is really a pedal boat. I’ve heard it both ways.  You sit in it and pedal it to make it go. Those were great fun!

What is your fantasy vacation?

For fantasy, I’m using the idea that it is a vacation that I would love to take, but know it is highly unlikely to ever happen, for a variety of reasons.  A trip to Ireland and Scotland would be my fantasy vacation. I want to soak up all of the natural beauty in the land of my forefathers, breathe the air that they breathed, walk the steps that they walked. I want to go home.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful that we made it one year without another stroke. The year anniversary for David’s first stroke was Friday, May 26.  The anniversary for strokes 2 and 3 was Sunday, May 28.  I am looking forward to another year of no strokes and health improvements for both of us.

I am looking forward to getting through tomorrow.  I am also looking forward to taking more animal/bird pictures this week, if we get breaks in the rain that is predicted for all week.  I am also looking forward to finishing the book that I am currently reading for review purposes. This has to be the looooooooooooooooongest 200 page book I’ve ever read!

I am also looking forward to David’s birthday.  He will be 55.  Then, I can start teasing him about being almost 56.  These are happy teasings because I am very happy that he will be 55.  We weren’t so sure that he was going to make it past 52.   His daddy died at age 52.  His daddy’s daddy died at age 42.  We have a deal here.  He IS going to make it to 62, then 72, then 82…maybe even 102.  I’m holding him to that deal, too!

Birthday_102_500

Please be sure to hop on over to visit David at Random Thoughts and Observations.  Also please visit our Share Your World hostess Cee to join in the fun!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Birthdays, Cee's Share Your World, David, Share Your World and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Share Your World

  1. Suvi says:

    Many mentioned the Alamo but I’d never heard of it – had to google 😉 I guess it’s because I’m European! Cheers from Finland!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope that you found it to be interesting reading. 🙂 There are a zillion European things that I don’t know about, I’m sure. I don’t know anything about Finland’s history at all. I’ll have to remedy that. I love history.
      Have a blessed day from Texas USA! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks ever so much for participating in SYW. I enjoyed reading your responses.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

