An Empty Nest

Our babies – the Carolina Wrens – took their first flight on Thursday, 25 May 2017.  It was more like a long jump than a flight, but that’s okay.  They’ll get it figured out.  They are out living on the ground with their parents.  I have been hoping and praying that nothing eats them while they are out there hopping around like little frogs.

Carolina_Wren_Babies_0173_25May2017_frame_600

Carolina Wren Babies About to Leave the Nest ©25 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

The morning was a bit exciting and also upsetting.  The first two babies left the nest, but there had been three babies.  We didn’t hear any sounds coming from the nest. We peeked in and saw Baby #3 standing on its head, and appearing to not be breathing. We didn’t know what we should do and decided to wait until Friday to see if it was still in that position, figuring if it was, then it had gone to Baby Birdie Heaven.

Carolina_Wren_Baby_#3_2312_25May2017_frame_600

Baby Carolina Wren “Sleeping” (Taken with iPhone 5s)         ©25 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Well, I prayed all morning.  I know that Heavenly Father can breathe life into anyone He chooses, even if they are already dead.  I prayed that He would for this little birdie.  When we went back outside at lunch time, there were sounds coming from the nest.

Carolina_Wren_Baby_Last_to_Leave_Nest_8121_frame_600

Carolina Wren – Last to Leave Nest (Taken with iPhone 4s)   ©25 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

The baby was no longer standing on its head and was soon getting atop the nest like its siblings had done that morning.  This one actually flew off the lamp fixture onto the screen platform below.  It was a beautiful sight!  I was so thankful that Heavenly Father allowed this baby to live.  Soon, it joined its siblings and parents on the ground below.

Carolina_Wren_Babies_Parent_8145_25May2017_frame_600

Carolina Wrens – Together Again (Taken with iPhone 4s camera) ©25 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

I’ve been able to hear them, but not see them, until this morning.  While I was able to see all three of them, I was able to get a picture of only one of them.

Carolina_Wren_Baby_1221_27May2017_frame_600

Carolina Wren Baby ©27 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Isn’t he or she adorable?  The little feathery tufts atop its head make me giggle.  They remind me a bit of Grandpa from The Munsters.  Don’t tell it I said that. 🙂

Have a great night, y’all!

I’m sharing this story with Scene & Story. Please visit Paisley Rain Boots to learn more about this monthly event.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Animals, Birds, Carolina Wren, Nature, Scene & Story. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to An Empty Nest

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    These babies have been a great source of joy and worry. I love you. Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. what wonderful photos! You are so so lucky to have such a lovely family to watch grow — glad the last little guy made it

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I was so happy to find that baby alive, too. I couldn’t stop smiling for the longest time. 🙂

      I was reading more about the wren habits last night. If I remember right what I read, after about a month, these babies will leave this yard, on to their new homes. Next spring, if they make it, they will becomes parents themselves. I hope that these babies will fight the trend and stay here in our yard. I’d love to get to meet my grand-birdies next year. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Have a blessed day!

      Like

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    So wonderful that the last little one was okay! The miracle of prayers! The birds are so cute! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yes, thank you! And thank Him for the miracle of little birdie life! I am so very happy that the little wren made it. It was the strongest flyer of the three, even though it didn’t flap for long. It was so cute! Carolina wrens aren’t strong flyers, anyway. They are more hoppers than flyers, only flying short distances. So, we have at least 5 feathery frogs in our yard. haha Have a blessed day. 🙂

      Like

  4. Welcome to Scene & Story Suzanne, delighted you are joining us. We have a nest of robins right now. The momma builds a nest in the same rhododendron bush every year. This year there were four eggs, two hatchings and only one surviving baby. It breaks a mama heart to see, but yet it is the nature of nature.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Sarah.
      Aww that is so sad. I wonder what happened to those that didn’t make it? David says that some eggs are duds, but I wonder what makes them so? Did the one hatchling just die, or did something attack it?
      Yes, it does break a mama heart, and I can only imagine how it makes the birdie parents feel.
      Have a blessed day.

      Like

  5. jeanne stone says:

    Those shots are adorable! I also saw some baby wrens fledging this spring and aren’t they so cute with those little feather tufts on their heads. Hoping all three of this little birdies do well and soon learn to fly. The parents are amazing too! Best to you, and thank you for visiting my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome, Jeanne, and thank you for visiting here, too. 🙂

      Yes, those little feather tufts are adorable. Such sweet babies and I love the protectiveness and persistence of their parents.

      How many babies did your wrens have?

      After these babies fledged, we found another egg in the light fixture, but outside of the nest. Now, that egg is gone. We don’t know why it was there, who it belonged to, or what has happened to it. It wasn’t on the ground under the lamp, either.

      Have a blessed day!

      Like

  6. jeanne stone says:

    Also see that you also live in Texas!! Me too , up in the Dallas area

    Liked by 1 person

  7. cathyhubmann says:

    Such a sweet story! So glad all the birds are doing well.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sandra says:

    I love those little fluffy heads of the baby birds. They grow up so fast and seem to leave the nest so soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Me, too. 🙂
      Yes, they do grow so fast. Can you imagine if our human babies grew that fast? I can’t imagine my baby leaving home at two weeks old. It is hard enough at 18 years old.
      Have a blessed day.

      Like

  9. I love the fluffy heads too! Thanks for sharing your story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. seabluelee says:

    Though I can’t see any nests, the trees behind my apartment are filled with the chirping of baby birds these days. I love bird watching, and your post was so interesting! It’s amazing that those wrens leave the nest when they seem so unequipped to meet the wider world. They don’t even have tails yet! And those sweet little fuzzy heads…oh my goodness. Thanks for joining us for Scene & Story!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Thankfully, when the initially leave the nest, their parents still chaperone them for awhile. It is my understanding that about a month after they leave the nest, they leave where they were born and go their merry way, I’m assuming independent of their parents. Still seems way too young to be out on their own.

      I hope, although you can’t see the nests, that you’ll get to see the baby birds soon. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Have a blessed day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

