Friendly Fill-Ins

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_Badge 

Here are the fill-ins:

1. My idea of roughing it is_________________________.
2. I never get sick of talking about _________________.
3. My youth _________________________________________.
4. My “golden years” ________________________________.

Here are my responses:

I have “roughed it” before.  When my daddy bought his property in the woods in Starr, South Carolina, we did not have running water in the house for a while nor electricity, as best as I can remember.  My idea of roughing it is much the same, but I’ll throw in lack of an air conditioner as part of roughing it, too.  I lived just fine without one back then. Most people I knew didn’t have one anyway.  Now, I could not deal without an air conditioner in the house.  It would be unbearable, especially since we can open our windows due to smoker neighbors.

I never get sick of talking about family history, genealogy, and nature things.  Right now, I especially enjoy talking about birds.  On this coming Sunday’s We’re Related- Or, Are We? post, I will share about a relationship confirmation that I have made.  I was happy to finally be able to confirm one!

My youth was spent in the woods and I loved it!  Then, I met David, and he took me out of the woods.  I loved being with him, too, then and now.

My “golden years” are probably going to be filled with  lots of time dealing with old lady problems, but also with birds, nature photography, and family tree research.

 

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    IT would e cool if we could spend our golden years in the woods. I love you. Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vicki says:

    I don’t remember having an a/c unit until I rented an apartment in 1978. I only used it once or twice, on really hot days when I was pregnant with my second child. Seems it just keeps getting hotter and hotter. I couldn’t live without an a/c now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Did you live in a cool climate back then? We’ve had an air conditioner since we got married. In our second house, which was a 4-room house, we had a window air conditioner in each room. I was pregnant with our first child (a son) and those units ran every day, all day. David says you could make ice in that house. We were in South Carolina then. We still run AC all day, all year long. We’re on the Texas Gulf Coast now where it is even hotter than it was in South Carolina. I don’t know how I survived our hot Southern childhood, but I did. 🙂

      Was your second child a boy or a girl and was your first one the gender opposite the second? I was way hotter with our boys than with our girls, but still had to have the AC throughout all of the pregnancies.

      Have a blessed weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

