Friday’s Hunt

This is my first time playing along with this weekly event, which I found over at Eden Hills.  How about joining in the fun? Click here to learn more about it.

The prompts for this week are:

1. Starts with U
2. Week’s Favorite
3. Kids

Starts with U:

“Unrelenting” is what the parent Carolina wrens have been since the babies hatched.  They are fierce defenders of their nestlings, now fledglings.  When the blue jays or blackbirds are around, the parents make a commotion in stereo, the daddy with one of his songs and the mama with her “you’d better get out of here!” warning call.  They keep up this mega-decibel, more than audible, attack until the bigger birds leave.

Carolina_Wren_0355_25May2017_crop_frame_500

Carolina Wren ©25 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Week’s Favorite:

Other than our wren babies that are in the next prompt, this is my favorite photo taken this week.

Pileated_Woodpecker_9140_22-May-2017_crop_frame_500

Pileated Woodpecker in Flight ©22 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Kids:

What could be better for “kids” than our Carolina wren babies, who left the nest yesterday morning (two of them) and afternoon (one of them)?

Carolina_Wren_3_Babies_0502_25May2017_crop_frame_500

Carolina Wren Fledglings ©25 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

This was fun and I hope to participate again next week. 🙂

Have a blessed weekend, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Carolina Wren, Friday's Hunt, Woodpeckers. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friday’s Hunt

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    They grow up so fast. i love you. Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. scotiaspinner says:

    Great pictures of your Carolina wrens! I do not get that species of bird up here in New Brunswick. I have a robin sitting on her nest at the moment and hope to see the fledglings in due course. The pileated woodpecker is beautiful too. I see those, but only occasionally.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! If you look at my post An Empty Nest, you’ll see more pictures of our wren babies and a video of the first flight of one of them.

      How nice that you have robins there. I don’t think I’ve seen any robins in our yard or even here in this town. Maybe it is too hot in this part of Texas (Gulf Coast) for them.

      This was the first and only pileated woodpecker that I’ve ever seen. I count myself very blessed to have been able to get a few pictures of it. I hope it comes back. We have a downy woodpecker that I’ve seen a couple of times now. I hear woodpeckers often, but rarely see them.

      I hope that you will be able to get pictures of your baby robins. I’d love to see them. Have a blessed day.

      Like

  3. Jim says:

    Nice post, Suzanne, it for me is a wonderful introduction to the Carolina wren. Welcome to our little Hunt. If we have them over here in the Katy/Fulshear, Cinco Ranch, area I have them lumped in with sparrows. We are almost overcome with doves, blackbirds, mocking birds, and rabbits.
    Seems around in Houston different areas have different kinds. Before coming here we lived in our “retirement home” 17 years at Montgomery, Conroe area. We had various hawk and eagle species, doves, woodoeckers, bluebirds, ROBINs, herons, ducks, squirrels, foxes, and more, more. Our house in Bentwater is still for sale, if our daughter and family were to be transfered we would move back.
    ..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Jim. I enjoyed the Hunt and hope to participate more often.
      I don’t know that I’ve seen any sparrows here, but I have seen an Inca dove and a couple of mourning doves, and many blackbirds. I wish that I could see a rabbit in our yard, but we have a load of squirrels. There are three little ones that have been out there lately, so cute. I’ve seen two, maybe three, types of woodpeckers here. I’ve seen the Pileated Woodpecker once, the Downy Woodpecker a couple of times, and what I think may have been the Hairy Woodpecker once. The only difference that I know of between the Hairy and the Downy is the size and I never see them at the same time.
      I hear things that sound like ducks very often, but have yet to see them. The sound comes from way over my head and out of my visual field.
      It sounds like you have lots of interesting creatures in your area! We’ve been to Fulshear in the past, but not very often. Thank you for sharing. Have a blessed day.

      Like

  4. Teresa says:

    What great images for the prompts! I am always amazed at how courageous those parents are when it comes to protecting their babies. Love the shot of the woodpecker. Thanks so much for joining Friday’s Hunt. Hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I had a fun time with this post and am looking forward to the next one. I have the V picture already, have to wait a few more days to decide on the favorite of the week, and have an idea for inch, but will have to look through my album for that one.

      Their bravery and persistence in protecting their babies amazes me, too. You’d think these little wrens were mama lions the way they protect their babies. 🙂

      Thanks. Have a blessed week!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

