Today’s Adventures

I hope that I am not boring all of you with the scenes from our yard.  I am enjoying seeing our critter population grow out there.

The baby Carolina wrens are getting more vocal.  Sometime over the next week or so, they should be leaving the nest.  My, how quickly they grow! Those wren parents are tough cookies. I’ve seen them run off blue jays just with their warning call, in stereo, without coming anywhere near the jay.  They’ve intimidated birds far bigger than they are.  I guess the other birds are as afraid of getting their eyes pecked out as I am. 🙂

Here are a few photos from this morning’s visit to the back yard. The squirrel is from the lunch time visit.

Brewers_Blackbird_9201_23-May-2017_Poe_crop_frame_500

Brewer’s Blackbird ©23 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Cardinal_9166_23-May-2017_crop_frame_500

Cardinal ©23 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Carolina_Chickadee_9237_23-May-2017_crop_frame_500

Carolina Chickadee ©23 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Mystery_Bird_9155_23-May-2017_crop_frame_500

Mourning Dove  ©23 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Squirrel_9393_23-May-2017_crop_frame_500

Squirrel ©23 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon  This squirrel was eating that stick like it was an ear of corn. It was really going at it, too!

Tufted_Titmouse_9211_23-May-2017_crop_frame_500

Tufted Titmouse ©23 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Anyone know what type of bird that is in the fourth picture? Is it a dove of some sort or maybe a pigeon?  I’ve seen them on the ground several times, but this is the first time I was able to get a picture of it.

UPDATE:  Thanks to Barbara from Teleportingweena, we have an ID on the mystery bird. It is a mourning dove. Thanks, Barbara!

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Animals, Birds, Nature, Photography, Squirrels. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today’s Adventures

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    You done great. I like your pictures. I love you. ZIng! ZIng

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ghostmmnc says:

    The bird you’re wondering about is a mourning dove. We have tons of them here at the feeder and on the porch eating cat food every day. 🙂 …Cute squirrel…that stick must have been good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Barbara. 🙂 That little squirrel was the cutest thing. It is so tiny! I’ve read that they like corn, even still on the cob, so we’re going to see about getting some for them soon. That should be fun to watch. 🙂
      Have a blessed day!

      Like

  3. auburnchick says:

    First of all, thank you so much for visiting my blog yesterday and for your kind comments. I love meeting other military family members. We are a close-knit family!

    This is my first time visiting your blog. Can I just say WOW to your pictures?! They are incredible! What kind of camera do you use? I love photography but don’t know a lot about it despite having a pretty decent lens. Time is my enemy, I fear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome. My other blog is PS Annie! It has been awhile since I visited your blog. I think I first visited there right after your son went into the Air Force. I love meeting other military families, too. We’re all in this together. May Our Father bless our children as they serve.

      Thank you for your kind words about my pictures. I am having a blast photographing the birds in our back yard. Almost all of my bird pictures have been taken with a Canon Digital Rebel Xsi and with a 75-300mm Canon lens. Some of my pictures have been taken with the iPhone, both 4s and 5s. Due my my memory problems, (forgetting to pay attention to where the exposure marker is, mostly), I have the camera set to Av. I can adjust the ISO (which I have on Auto) and the F-stop (which is usually on 5.6) and the camera deals with the shutter speed. Then, I click a zillion shots, until the camera decides its too busy to let me get THE absolute perfect shot that I’ve been waiting to get. Then, it plays nice and lets me shoot some more. Sometimes I get lucky. Most times, the pictures get deleted because there are way more fuzzy ones than any that pass for clear. Almost always, my camera is hand-held. I can’t get the flexibility that I need for this type of photography when I use a tripod.

      How is time your enemy? Please explain.

      Have a blessed day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

