What’s in the Mail Today?

Look what I saw on the way to the mailbox today!

Pileated_Woodprecker_9135_22-May-2017_crop_frame_500

Pileated Woodpecker ©22 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Pileated_Woodpecker_9140_22-May-2017_crop_frame_500

Pileated Woodpecker ©22 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Animals, Birds, Woodpeckers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s in the Mail Today?

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    I guess old Cliff Clavon was good to you today. I love you. Zing! ZIng!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. pattisj says:

    Nice! I’ve found these difficult to photograph. They make a lot of noise, so they’re easy to spot, but they just don’t hold still. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! This one was moving quite a bit, too, but still hung around longer than I expected it to. It also let me get closer than I figured it would. I didn’t get right up to it, of course, but way closer than any of the other birds will let me get to them.
      The chickadees have probably been the absolute hardest for me to photograph. About the time I get the camera pointed at them, they’re gone. 🙂
      Have a blessed day.

      Liked by 1 person

      • pattisj says:

        Those Chickadees are quick–grab and go! Those Pileated Woodpeckers seem to go to the opposite side of the tree where I can’t see them.

        Liked by 1 person

        • This woodpecker kept doing that, too, at least until it got to that tree across the road. It stayed at that base for a little while, then went further up the tree where I got its profile shot. It was evading my camera pretty good while here in our yard.
          Those little Chickadees are something else. They hold their own pretty good with the cardinals here in this yard. 🙂
          Have a blessed day.

          Like

Leave a Reply

