Friendly Fill-Ins

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

 

Friday_Fill-In_BadgeHere are the fill-ins:

  1. I have googled _________________________.
  2. I have__________________________ on Ebay.
  3. I think ________________________________.
  4. ______________ thinks __________________.

 

Here are my responses:

I have googled all sorts of things over the years. Most recently I have looked for definitions of words, information about bird eggs, bird identifications, how to create a backyard habitat, and how to make hashbrowns.

I have researched real estate on Ebay. Not that we’ll ever be able to afford it, but it is fun looking anyway.

I think…a lot of things! I think our new little baby birds look like little punk rock aliens.  I am wondering if they really are baby wrens or if someone else put their eggs in there when the wren wasn’t looking. One of them looks like it has a wild mohawk hairdo.

David thinks making YouTube videos is fun.  How about helping a guy out and subscribing to his YouTube channel? We’re 8 days away from his stroke-iversary.  Wouldn’t it be wonderful for him to have lots of new watchers to help him celebrate a year of recovery and survival? It would mean the world to me if you all subscribed to his channel.  Click here to visit his YouTube channel: David McClendon  Thank you!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins

  1. 15andmeowing says:

    Great answers to the fill-ins. Did you know cowbirds do put their eggs in others’ nest when they are not looking. They are fairly big birds so sadly if they are in with smaller ones they eat more and the others starve. We have baby bluebirds, my hubby peaked in, but didn’t get a photo- he said it was all little beaks open waiting for food. I use ebay a lot, but didn’t know they had real estate on there too. Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks and thank you and Annie for hosting the fill-ins.
      I knew that some birds put their eggs in other folks’ nests, but I didn’t which ones did it. Hopefully all of these babies belong to the wrens that are taking care of them. I didn’t peak in the nest today. There was lots of parental activity going on and don’t want them to peck out my eyeballs. haha
      It is my understanding that cowbirds can pass some kind of sickness to the wrens, so I hope we don’t get any cowbirds here in our yard.
      How many baby bluebirds do you have? How sweet. 🙂
      I didn’t know until a year or so ago that ebay had real estate listings. It was a fun discovery!
      Thanks. I hope that you have a blessed weekend, too. 🙂

      Like

      • Sometimes, cowbirds have laid their eggs in wren nests. Wrens have been known to raise them as their own. We have many of both here. We have Dewey’s birdhouse, which is a wren favourite. The cowbirds are just a bit goofy. Enjoy them!

        Liked by 1 person

        • These babies were asleep when I was out there today. I think the one with the mohawk is adorable and it makes me laugh. I hope cowbirds will stay away from this nest. I don’t want the babies to get sick.
          Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

          Like

          • I don’t think you need to worry. Cowbirds are fine, Suz. And God sees them all! He will watch over them. Hugs.

            Liked by 1 person

          • My concern is due to something that I read saying that there is a parasite or something that the cowbirds carry that can kill the wrens or at least make them very sick. I know that heavenly Father sees all, but He also lets creatures die. While I know He is in control, I also do not want them to die. Hugs.

            Like

          • Suz, Cowbirds are “parasitic birds”. That means they take advantage of other birds, live off of them. In this way, they lay their eggs in the nests of other birds, especially wrens. Wrens are well known to raise other birds as their own, no matter the bird or their size. I think that is what you came across. So…don’t worry. God takes care of babies and critters. Hugs.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Thank you, Annie.

            I do understand that use of the word parasitic, as in being a mooch (more or less). But that wasn’t the context of what I read. I’ve looked at so many bird sites lately that I don’t even remember where I read it.

            Thank you and have a blessed weekend. 🙂

            Like

  2. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    That was sweet, Suz.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Praying your husband has no more health scares!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You use the Internet much as I do. We even have been using it in our search for a home UP North. That is down the road, but we have to start somewhere. Maybe you can sell that home in the future, and go where you will be happier. I hope you & David do something great to celebrate his Surviversary! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope that Heavenly Father will lead you to the home that He means for you to have very soon.
      At the moment, I am pretty happy with how things are going with the yard here, if not the house. There are issues with being outside, like neighbors’ smoking and mosquitoes, but other than that, this yard is great. 🙂
      I hope we’ll be able to celebrate somehow, too, but I don’t know what we’ll be able to do at this point. Thank you. Hugs! Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Like

  5. ghostmmnc says:

    It’s great to google all kinds of things these days. What did we ever do with out it? All your birding adventures are fun to read about! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’m glad that you’re enjoying my birding adventures, too. 🙂 I love sitting out there waiting to see who will come along. Today there were tons of Carolina chickadees and tufted titmice, a few cardinals and, after several days’ absence, the bluejays came back. The wrens are really busy flying back and forth between the nest and wherever it is they go to pick up supplies (like stuff for nest repair and what looks to be worms and bugs).

      Before Google, there was AOL, but I can’t remember if we could search stuff then like we can now with Google. All I really remember about AOL was chat rooms, private messages, and games like Slingo, which was a blast!
      Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. So they try and pawn their kids off to another bird….are these birds stupid or what? Don’t they know whos who and who their kids smell like. If they smell like the eagle down the street and huge….hint!…they’re probably not yours little sparrow.

    Shoko

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m a little confused about this comment, based on the post it is attached to. 🙂
      I don’t think the birds are stupid. Just like other creatures, they sometimes go ahead and nurture those in their nests even though it isn’t their own baby. What I don’t understand is why some mama birds put their babies in other birds’ nests. It is like they are too lazy, maybe, to do the work of bringing them to hatching then fledging. But, I guess its just what they do. Go figure. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Have a blessed weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

