I’m A Little Blue Today

Okay, *I’m* not really blue.  I am ecstatically happy!  A bluejay came for a visit today and let me take his picture.  He was beautiful and a little ham, too. 🙂

Bluejay_4415_5-May-2017_crop_frame_500

Bluejay ©5 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Bluejay_4419_5-May-2017_crop_frame_500

Bluejay ©5 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Bluejay_4425_5-May-2017_crop_frame_500

Bluejay ©5 May 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Have a blessed weekend, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Animals, Birds. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’m A Little Blue Today

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Great pictures. Maybe there will be one of those very rare green jays along soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gorgeous pictures. We have bluejays around here too. They may be nice to look at, but they sure can’t sing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! They can be really cranky, too. The bluejay in this picture had just been in an air battle with the resident cardinal and one other bird. I’m surprised it stayed around at all. The cardinal stayed tucked back for awhile until after the bluejay left.
      Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great photos! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Suzanne, good job photographing the Bluejay! We don’t see many in our yard anymore. We used to see them quite frequently. I really want to get a feeder up in the back yard. Maybe by this fall we can get ours back up. I hope in our next place, we can create a lovely backyard for our enjoyment as well as little critters to enjoy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Cathy. 🙂 This bluejay seems to be becoming a regular visitor in our yard now. I love to see it, but I wish it would stop scaring off the cardinals. I got some more pictures of the bluejay today. He seems to like to be photographed. 🙂

      I hope that you’ll be able to get the bird feeder up soon. This is a great time of year to attract them. What kind of birds do you hope to attract to your yard?

      At first, I didn’t think that anyone was going to come back into our yard. It took what seemed like forever for anyone to visit once I put this feeder out there. Now, many times it is like Grand Central Station out there.

      I haven’t seen the cardinals or the bluejay at the feeder, but they land on the screen that I have across an old table frame and along the privacy fence beams and eat there. They seem to like that best, at least the ones here do. The chickadees and titmouses (mice?) like the hanging feeder, but they also eat at the same places the cardinals and bluejays do. And these little birds LOVE the bird bath that I made for them. 🙂 I made these out of things I found in the potting shed.

      As I can, I want to put more around the yard. There were 4 feeders in the shed and, once I figure out how to safely clean them up, they are going into service, too.

      I can’t wait to see your birdie haven. 🙂

      Have a blessed night.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

