A Surprise Visit!

Heavenly Father sent me a surprise visitor today! I was sitting outside trying to be really quiet and still, hoping that the birdy egg mommy would come along and let me take her picture.  I tried to peek into the lamp fixture to make sure nothing had made off with the eggs and you would have thought the light fixture had turned into a maniacal cuckoo clock or something.  The parent bird was in there and popped out an me, nearly making me pee my pants. haha Mental Note:  No more trying to peek in the light fixture!

So, I went to sit down, as I said, quietly and still.  The next thing I know, there is a cardinal on the patio with me and then up in the tree right in front of me.   I was lucky to get three pictures of him. They are on the fuzzy side, but that’s as good as I could get with bad eyes, shaky hands, and a 300mm lens sticking out 40 miles in front of the camera. 🙂

Cardinal_4094_crop_frame_500

©30 April 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Cardinal_4095_crop_frame_500

©30 April 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Cardinal_4123_crop_frame_500

©30 April 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Isn’t it a beautiful bird?  I think that cardinals are my very favorite bird.

Now, for that fiesty mommy bird. I got a couple of very fuzzy pictures of her, but maybe they will be good enough for you bird folks to be able to help me identify her.  I hope so, anyway!

Bird_4103_circled

Parent Bird ©30 April 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

Bird_4102_circled

Parent Bird ©30 April 2017 Suzanne G. McClendon

So, any guesses about what kind of bird this is, beside cranky? It was squawking up a storm while I took these pictures.

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Birds. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Surprise Visit!

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    i think you did good, Maybe mama is a coo coo bird. I love you. Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful shots, Sis! I just got a new camera with a 70-300 zoom (which I used on the photos I just posted of our daughter). You would have giggled at me trying to get far enough UP in the stands to get the photos because the zoom was way more powerful than I anticipated and from our front-row seat in the stands the best I could do was one of the rhinestones on her uniform! It was pretty comical, but I will practice and get better with the new equipment before the next event.

    I love your shots of the birdies. Cardinals are a personal favorite for me, too. They hang out in the bird feeder just outside my office window, and I enjoy watching them. It is a peaceful activity just sitting here and watching them fly in, eat, and flit away. The males are the prettiest ones, and when a female comes to the feeder, a male will fly a little ways away so she can eat. It’s so cute. Thanks for sharing your sweet shots, Sis. I love them, as always.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Sis. It is a lot of fun watching the cardinals interact with each other. I love watching them with their babies, especially the flying lessons. 🙂
      You’ll get that new lens worked out and will ace it! It is funny when you’re first trying to use the thing and the subject looks like she/he/it is practically in your lap through that lens! I was tracking a butterfly through mine and came upon a ladybug (very fuzzy pic, that one!), but when I moved the lens and tried to find it with my eyes, I couldn’t see the ladybug anywhere. I figure she/he must have been in Kansas, not my backyard. haha
      I’m going to look for those pictures that you’ve just posted. I can’t wait to see them! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      Like

    • Hey, where did you post the pictures? I thought you meant on your blog, but I didn’t see them.

      Like

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    Your photos of the cardinal are really good! We very rarely see one here. Sorry, I don’t know what the other bird is.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent picture of the male cardinal. Females tend to be more photo shy, but if she’s sitting, that’s expected. We have robins who nest each year in our carport. We used to take down the old nests and finally quit. It hasn’t stopped them from coming back. I’ve been buzzed a few times trying to get into the car. Sheesh! You would think this is her home not mine

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 15andmeowing says:

    Beautiful photos, that was a wonderful gift.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

