S is for Something #AtoZChallenge

S

S is for something because if I put spiders or snakes in the subject line, maybe you wouldn’t have clicked to read my post. :).

Spiders love me.  They are always snacking on me. Even a brown recluse got in on the Suz buffet back in 2011.  It caused a totally disgusting hole to open up on me, hanging flesh, the whole nine yards. But, aside from having a pretty high fever and being sick as a dog for a month, we were able to take care of it without a hospital stay.  Had I gone to the hospital available to me at the time, I probably would have died. It was a “you can check in, but you won’t check out alive” hospital. They went bankrupt this past November. Thank goodness that death machine is out of business!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Snakes are just a part of everyday living here in Texas. We have them in the yard and in the house and, though I’d rather not think this thought, probably in the car somewhere, too. One lady found rattlesnakes in her car in downtown a few years ago. Rattlesnakes, people!  Not the type of rattling you want to hear in your car, especially if you don’t hear or see them until you’re driving 70+ miles an hour on the freeway. Thankfully, they didn’t eat her and someone came to rescue her or, maybe they were rescuing the snakes. I can imagine that a major freak-isode happened when she realized what was in the car with her!

Last year, a King Cobra made the news when it escaped from its enclosure at a local house.  This house was across the street from David’s mother’s former house (she had recently moved from that house).  It seems this teenage boy kept all sorts of snakes as his pets in the garage. The King Cobra decided it didn’t like its digs there and went on walkabout. Folks were in a real tizzy until that thing was found, too, I’ll tell you!  Guess where they found it?  Seems ol’ King had decided to get a little education. They found it in the field of the local high school.  Can you imagine if that thing had gotten INTO the school?  OY!

cb6b0-a2z_badge-100_2017

Have a blessed day, y’all!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, A to Z April Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to S is for Something #AtoZChallenge

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Snakes can make you hurt yourself. I love you. Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. EEEEEEEEK! I have no problem with snakes (except for poisonous ones) but I can’t stand spiders!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 15andmeowing says:

    I like spiders, but not snakes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Suzanne, I think I’d have to rethink about ever moving to Texas. I hate spiders but I hate snakes more! Oh good grief, a brown recluse nibbled on you? Yikes! That’s horrible. We read recently The Voice singer Meghan Lindsey was bitten by one and it left a hole in her face. What’s so strange this one bit her while she was sleeping. Every time we’ve heard about an incident, it’s usually someone sticking their hands or feet into something/someplace. How did the brown recluse find its way to you? So, glad your story had a happy ending!

    Art Sketching Through the Alphabet “S” (Snow White & the Seven Dwarfs)

    Liked by 1 person

    • OUCH! I’m glad that it didn’t get my face. I’m so sorry it got Meghan on her face. I hope she is okay.

      I think, for the most part, they must be chomping me while I’m asleep, too, because I don’t feel it happening. I just wake up to find a new bite on me, sometimes several. Thankfully, though they do open up a little, none have opened up to the degree of the first recluse bite. I guess I’m immune to that part of it now. I sure hope so, anyway!
      Thank you and have a blessed day!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Suzanne, Gee you were bitten in your sleep, too?! Now, you got me worried. I thought I was safe as long as I didn’t poke my fingers and toes in something that hasn’t been used in like forever. smack forehead I don’t think…knock on wood…that I’ve ever seen a brown recluse inside the house, so maybe we’re safe. We have spotted some black window outside, though. I can do without spiders but I know every creature has a purpose. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Hi Cathy,
          They do love to hide in dark places or under things that haven’t been moved in a long time. I have been working in parts of the house that haven’t been used in many years, so I am probably picking them up in those rooms and bringing them back to our room. I don’t like that thought at all!
          Yes, they all have a purpose, but I don’t think that included snacking on the humans. I think they decided on that themselves. 🙂
          Have a blessed day.

          Like

  5. Pingback: #AtoZChallenge Round Up | McClendon Villa

Leave a Reply

