Friendly Fill-Ins

Friendly Fill-Ins
21 April 2017

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_BadgeHere are the fill-ins:

1. The most interesting museum I have been to is _____________.

2. The most interesting historical place I have been to is _______________.

3. ___________________ is back!

4. I was surprised ___________________.

Here are my responses:

I have been to several museums.  The one that I was most excited to go to was at Graceland, Elvis’ home in Memphis, Tennessee.  But, I think the one here in town is pretty interesting. It has old toys, as in from David’s childhood, and things from the old post office, radios, farm equipment, an airplane, and all sorts of cool stuff. Part of the display there is a garden of plants native to Texas. They also have the childhood home of Dan Rather there.

The Star Fort in Ninety-Six, South Carolina, the Old Stone Church in Clemson, South Carolina, the Hermitage (home of Andrew Jackson), the Varner-Hogg Plantation in West Columbia, Texas, and the George Ranch are just a few of the many historic sites that I have been to in my 51 years on this earth. My most favorite of all, so far anyway, is the Biltmore House! I love that place. It is beautiful and magical and absolutely breathtaking when decorated for Christmas.

The birdie families are back! There is one building a nest in a light fixture on our patio as I type this. I have not been able to identify the bird yet, but I’m working on it. Whatever it is, it is a cute little thing.

I was surprised to see a bluebonnet on February 13 this year. They don’t usually show up until early March. Last year, we saw the first one on February 26. They seem to be getting earlier each year.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins, Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins

  1. 15andmeowing says:

    Thank you for participating in the fill-ins, great answers, as always. You have been to a lot of historical places, all sound interesting. We have bluebirds nesting in the box outside our front door. I wonder what kind you have nesting. Have a nice weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. They were great places to visit. I have always enjoyed history and the places that go with it.
      How cool that you have bluebirds nesting at your front door. 🙂
      I hope that I’ll be able to figure out what this bird is. No luck so far, though.
      Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Like

  2. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Biltmore House is way cool. I would love to go back there in the fall. I love you. Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You have been blessed to visit many interesting places. I have read about haunting at the Biltmore House. Did David grow up in Texas? I love local museums. I cannot wait to see what your bird neighbour is! I think that the mild winter gave us a warm beginning to Spring, bringing out everything early! Have a great weekend. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I have been blessed to visit some very cool places, mostly on our honeymoon.

      No, David was born in Atlanta and grew up in South Carolina. His mother was born here in Houston, though.

      I kind of think this bird is some kind of sparrow or maybe a type of robin, but I haven’t been able to locate one online that looks like it.

      It has been pretty mild all around, thank goodness. 🙂 Have a blessed weekend.

      Like

      • I wondered what the Texas connection was. Texans are pretty hardcore about their roots. Is she still there with you?My traveling was growing up (I went to 11 schools), before marriage, and when first married. Of course, I did go trucking a few times 2012-2014. But, it was still good to be able to learn and see new things!
        If you can capture that bird in a photo, maybe we can help ID it! I love birding.
        A-Z is winding down, so back to a “normal” routine soon. whew
        Enjoy your weekend. Hugs.

        Liked by 1 person

        • She still lives in Texas, but not here.
          David and I used to think trucking would be a fun adventure, but we know that isn’t something that we can do at this point in our lives. It would have been great back when we were young, before we had babies, though.
          I went out to see if I could see the bird again this morning, but I didn’t see it anywhere. I was going to try to get a photograph. Maybe I’ll get lucky next time I go out and be able to see it again. I sure saw plenty of spiders out there! I walked through I don’t know how many webs just to get into the backyard.
          I still need to work on my S post for today and am consistently late in visiting the other bloggers. I try to visit the 5 a day, but with a hundred other things to do in a day, it doesn’t always work out.
          Have a blessed weekend. 🙂 Hugs

          Liked by 1 person

          • We wish we had done the trucking when young, but life took us elsewhere the. It is a very demanding and rough job! Actually, it is a lifestyle.
            I know. The A-Z is so busy! I have so much going on, too. Busy!
            Oh, yikes…spiders. Good for the birds and environment. Not so much for me! Hugs.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Life took us elsewhere, too. Namely, to his daddy’s store and then to labor and delivery. 🙂 Friends of ours years ago were truckers. Their little boy was on the road with them, all living in the truck. It was definitely an adventure!
            Spiders are good for getting a body moving. haha
            Have a blessed day. 🙂 Hugs.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Annie says:

    I’d really like to visit Graceland! I clicked on your link for the Biltmore House. It’s beautiful! I love bluebonnets and they one of the main things I miss from Texas. That’s interesting that they showed up in February this year. I hope you’ll be able to identify the bird.

    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope that you’ll get to visit both Graceland and the Biltmore House one day. Graceland wasn’t what I was expecting really. Think “new rich”, and that is pretty much how it was when we saw it back in 1984. But, it was great because I was where Elvis had been and I loved him to pieces. 🙂 The Biltmore House…wow, that place is just totally awesome all the way around. The view from the patio, across that gorge, is breathtaking. If I were in the market for buying a huge mountain estate, that one would be my first choice, hands down!
      The bluebonnets are beautiful and I also love the paintbrushes, the blankets, and the zillion other kinds out there right now. They are on their way out, though. Its sad to see them go. But, more come in their places, just maybe not in such profusion of color.
      When did you leave Texas?
      Still no luck on identifying that bird. I went out to see if I could see it again this morning, but no such luck. It had brown on its body, on the sides kind of toward the tail, and a thickish black stripe on the side of its head. I’m going to look some more online to see if I can identify it.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting here. Have a blessed weekend. 🙂

      Like

  5. You’ve been to some very cool places! Some of those are on my ‘some day’ list to visit. 😉

    Can you take a picture of the bird and post it? Maybe we can help you figure out what it is! I’ve discovered a couple of birds that are feeding from our feeder that aren’t ‘normally’ from around this area. We feel special! 🙂

    I love bluebells! Interesting their showing up earlier each year! Have a great weekend! 🙂

    Friendly Fill-Ins with Historical Places, Museums, & more while we Celebrate the Small Things for Friday Fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. 🙂 I will be going back outside shortly to see if that bird is out there. I haven’t seen it since that first morning. I am hoping to get a photo of it. I would love the help identifying it!
      How lucky you are that you’re getting different birds at your feeder. As far as I can tell, no one is making use of the feeder that I have put out there. I haven’t seen anything but a bee anywhere near it and it has been out there at least a month now. Maybe they’ll come around eventually. I hope so.
      I think it is cool that the bluebonnets were here earlier this year, too. I’m hoping this means they’ll be here in January next year. 🙂
      Have a blessed day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

