H is for Heroes #AtoZChallenge

H

H is for heroes.

David and I both come from a long line of military folks. Pretty much every male in our family that was physically able to do so has served in the armed forces.  Here are a few of our heroes…

Davey_Jared_2553

Our boys, Jared – Chief Petty Officer, US Navy and Davey – Corporal, US Marine Corps.

My daddy, Jimmy Ray Gunter, was unable to serve due to a back injury.  He was still a hero to me. 🙂

McClendon_Robert_Bruce_Airman_2ndClass

David’s daddy – Robert Bruce McClendon Jr, Airman Second Class – US Air Force

BOBBY JOE 2

Uncle Bobby Joe – Daddy’s big brother – Pvt 1 Class – US Army

Spence_Gerald_Taft_USArmy_82ndAirborne_500

Uncle Jerry – Mama’s older brother – US Army – 82nd Airborne

McClendon_Carl_E_1953-1954_Sophmore

Uncle Carl E. McClendon – US Air Force (photo from sophomore year in high school)

McClendon_RB_Sr_Sepia_500

Robert Bruce McClendon, Sr, David’s grandpa.  We do not know what rank or branch of service.

Greer_Dallas_Winfield_Crop

Dallas Winfield Greer – David’s 2nd great-grandfather – Served in the CSA

Our brothers all served as well.  One of my brothers started out in the US Air Force, but then was also in the US Army and US Navy.  My other brother served in the US Army.  David’s brother was in the US Army to begin with and then was in the US Navy.

Here are a few of our extended family heroes…

These three brothers are my maternal grandma’s first cousins: Theodore David Rivers, Oliphant Mitchell Rivers and Marion Symmes Rivers. They are the sons of my great-grandmother’s sister Sallie Williams Rivers.

And the following three Pressleys are the children of my Great-grandpa Julius Jared Pressley’s brother, James Franklin Pressley.

Pressley_Rose_and_Ralph_and_William_600

I don’t know that I ever met either of the two Pressley guys pictured, but I grew up in the same neighborhood with Rose.  She was also my grandma’s first cousin.  As a kid, I was unsure of my actual relationship to her.  Mama had us calling her “Aunt Rose”.  It was a common thing for us to call older people ‘aunt’ or ‘uncle’ whether they really were or not.  I found out much later that she was actually a cousin. I think she would be a 1st cousin 2x removed.

Many, many more folks in our families served, but these are the few for which I have pictures.

May Heavenly Father bless all of the heroes out there, in whatever branch, wherever they serve!

cb6b0-a2z_badge-100_2017

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, A to Z April Challenge, Military Families, Navy, US Marine Corps, US Military. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to H is for Heroes #AtoZChallenge

  1. eschudel says:

    Great set of photos for Heroes – and lovely to “meet” your boys!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 15andmeowing says:

    Lots of heroes in your family. My Dad was in the Air Force.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: #AtoZChallenge Round Up | McClendon Villa

Leave a Reply

