Friendly Fill-Ins

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_BadgeHere are the fill-ins:

  1. The oldest item in my home is _____________________.
  1. The oldest item in my refrigerator is _____________.
  1. My family heritage is _____________________________.
  1. My favorite family tradition is __________________.

Here are my answers:

1. As far as I know, the oldest item in our home is our upright grand piano. It is a mahogany beauty born in 1895.

2. The oldest item in my refrigerator right now is probably a bottle of salad dressing…and that gallon of milk that I forgot to throw out.

Grandma_Spence_and_Suz_19843. The heritage question can be answered in a multitude of ways. As an item of inheritance, I have rings from my granny, knickknacks from my maternal grandparents, and an old bell from my grand-aunt Mae.

Physically, I have the short stature of both of my grandmothers, the square chin of my Fowler family, and am a really good blend of both of my grandmothers overall. Here is a picture of me with my maternal grandmother on David’s and my wedding day.

Genetically, I am primarily European 97%(Irish, Scottish, English), and African (Egyptian) and a little Middle Eastern (3%)thrown in to make things exciting.

4. Our family traditions are in a state of flux. When I was a kid, we *always* went to Granny Gunter’s house for Thanksgiving and Christmas. There was never any question about where we’d spend those days. I cherish those memories and miss those times something fierce.

David and I have spent every New Year’s Eve together since New Year’s Eve 1982. We had to share the stroke of midnight between 2012 and 2013 with nurses, but at least we were together and we got to share our traditional first kiss of the new year. AND, our three youngest kids were there with us to ring it in. It was also a sad time for me as it also brought in the first year that would not have my daddy in it. We have not had a New Year’s Eve together, the five of us, since New Year’s Eve 2013. Davey was already in the US Marine Corps by New Year’s Eve 2014.

Each year, our Christmas decorating does not start until our oldest daughter’s birthday. She is in charge of deciding when the tree will be put up and decorated. We never wanted her birthday to get lost and forgotten in the chaos that surrounds Christmas. Both are very important occasions. This tradition continues and probably always will.

I cannot think of any other traditions that we started out with that have continued at this point.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins, Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins

  1. 15andmeowing says:

    Thank you for those great answers to the fill-ins. I love the photo of you and your Grandma. I am glad you have been able to spend every New Year’s Eve with Dave since 1982, even if one year was in the hospital, at least you were together. Have a nice weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You and Grandma Spence are both beautiful. Granny was pretty, too.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    That is a wonderful photo! It is so nice to have some things from our relatives to keep and remember them by. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ghostmmnc says:

    Wishing you a blessed weekend, too! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That photo of you and your grandmother is priceless! And beautiful! 🙂

    I love that you guys have an old upright piano – sounds beautiful!!

    When is your daughter’s birthday? For years I never decorated for Christmas until after my birthday (December 9th) because too often I’d feel like my birthday would get lost between Thanksgiving and Christmas. But over the years, since I go all out Christmas decorating, I decided to follow the tradition of others and do my decorating over Thanksgiving weekend (starting the day after Thanksgiving, of course!) so I could have more time to enjoy the hard work that goes into the massive decorating I do, and it actually makes my birthday feel more ‘festive’, if that makes sense. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Stacy. It is one of my most favorite photos. 🙂

      I think the piano is absolutely beautiful. It is way out of tune, but is beautiful just the same. It is a dark mahogany. The lighting in this house is not worth a dime, so taking a picture of it is very difficult. :/

      Her birthday is Dec. 18, exactly one week before Christmas. She was 5 days late. I think that your thought makes perfect sense. Hey, all the decorations are there for you AND Jesus. 🙂

      Have a blessed week!

      Like

  6. Your family heirlooms and keepsakes sound wonderful. I wish I had tangible items from a better time. I don’t even have family, now. Do you or David play the piano? It sounds great! Bill has old guitars that are amazing. His brother had antique accordions. I never invested in a DNA test, though it would be interesting according to legends. Hugs.
    Are you doing the A-Z?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I want to do the A – Z Challenge. That was my intention. At this point, though, I am not sure how it is going to work out. I am not sure when my eye surgery will be. What is your topic for the challenge?

      I wish that you had tangible items from your loved ones, too. We had more at one point, but our storage building was stolen – yes, the building, too! – and many of our family heirlooms were in that building waiting for us to have our own house to move them into. I’m sorry that you don’t have family now. (((Hugs))) Some times friends are truer family than blood relatives.
      David had piano lessons and I guess he could still play if he wanted to. I have never had piano lessens. In the past, I could play Mary Had a Little Lamb and part of Fur Elise. I don’t know that I’d be able to learn at this point due to memory issues.

      I think it would be great if you could some day get the Ancestry DNA test done and we could compare notes and see if somehow we’re kin. 🙂

      Have a blessed day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

