Caturday Art

I have seen several other bloggers participate in this weekly event, but have never had anything to offer.  While out in the yard yesterday, a lack of paying attention to camera settings gave me something that I felt would work just perfectly for a Caturday Art post.

So, without further ado, here is an abstract version, of sorts, of our sweet Callie.

Caturday_Callie_10-March-2017_framedsigned_750

The exposure is totally blown, obviously, but I like the fact that it left behind just a hint of Callie. The effect is kind of like the old cross-stitch patterns that I used to enjoy working. They made use of negative space; our minds filled in the missing details. We have her eyes, a hint of her ears and back, and the tip of her tail.

The original image was cropped and framed and signed. No other filters or edits were made.

CaturdayArtBanner

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Animals, Art, Cats, Caturday Art, Pets, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Caturday Art

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    It makes sense that you cannot see her in this picture since she is invisible. She is a sweet kitty and you did a great job. I love you. Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Roby Sweet says:

    Very nice to see you on this hop! And I love your art–it sort of reminds me of some Japanese cat paintings I’ve seen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I hope that I’ll be able to participate more often. I have wanted to join in for months now, but never seemed to have what felt like the right image to me. I would love to see the Japanese paintings that you mention. Do you have a link you could share or did you see them in person?
      Have a blessed day. 🙂

      Like

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    I really like how the photograph turned out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is lovely! We like the way the eyes turned out especially. It’s kind of mystical.

    Thanks for joining our blog hop and welcome!

    Purrs xx
    Athena and Mare

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. 🙂 I hope to be able to participate in this hop more often. We’ll see how it goes. She has great eyes. They are more yellow than green. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen kitty eyes this color before.
      Thanks again and have a blessed day. 🙂

      Like

  5. Cathy Keisha says:

    I like this. Sometimes the photo fails make the best art.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ghostmmnc says:

    Well, that was a mistake worth keeping! Blessings for you today, also! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. 15andmeowing says:

    That came out great.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Mariodacat says:

    WOW, that is truly beautiful. She is a beautiful kitty. There enough of her showing that we can get the shape and outline. It’s gorgeous – just like she is.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Suzanne, how are you doing? Did you ever have your eye surgery? I have failed miserably keeping up and for that I’m sorry! Anywho, sometimes you get a happy mistake like this one with the over exposed photo. It’s really an artsy type of photo and I’m glad you didn’t discard it. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Cathy. No apologies necessary at all. You haven’t failed at anything.

      I’m glad I didn’t discard it, too. I am thinking of having it put on a canvas at some point. We’ll see how that goes. And, speaking of “seeing”, no, I haven’t had the surgery yet. We are working on getting an appointment with an ophthalmologist in Houston for this month and go from there. I’ll keep you posted. 🙂 Thanks for asking.
      Have a blessed evening.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

