Five Minute Friday: Purpose

Write for five minutes, no editing, just writing what comes to your heart on this week’s word:

Purpose

What is my purpose on this earth? What was I created to do? I wish that I knew why He put me here.  I am still here because I have more work to do, but I do not know what that work is.

If only it were so easy as opening an email or a text and finding the phrase, “Your purpose is…”, then I’d know what to do, what I am supposed to do. Instead, I am here with all sorts of cravings and desires and each one with an obstacle.  I want to sing, but don’t have the voice.  I want to be a great photographer, but I am going blind and my hands shake.  I want to knit and crochet, but arthritis has more control over my fingers than I do.

I want, I want, I want…no, no, no.

Then, PLEASE, tell me my purpose, what I am supposed to be doing, Father?  What important thing did you create me to do, that one thing that only I was put here to do?  Please show me my purpose.

Please help me to be the me that You created me to be.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Five Minute Friday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Five Minute Friday: Purpose

  1. 15andmeowing says:

    I think we all wonder what our purpose is here on Earth. All we can do is follow our heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My heart is so confused right now that it doesn’t really know which way to go. There’s so much “noise”, so to speak, that it is hard to hear anything. Thank you for your encouragement. Have a blessed day. 🙂

      Like

  2. You are a wife and a mom! Two very important roles! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you and I agree, both are very important. 🙂 Those were the top two things on my “what I want to do when I grow up” list, too. 🙂

      But, what do I do now, since the kids are grown and gone? I still don’t know what, other than being a wife and mama, and sharing Heavenly Father with others, I am supposed to be doing. I am 51 years old and still very much at the “what am I going to be/do when I grow up” stage. I need to find something that can be worked from home that we can do in spite of our health issues, but everything that I know how to do gets met with an obstacle that I don’t know how to overcome.

      I know that sounds like a pity party and I don’t mean for it to sound that way at all. I am just frustrated about this whole purpose thing. Surely I am meant to do something besides watch everyone else do something. 🙂

      Thanks so much for your encouragement. I appreciate it very much. Have a blessed weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I know the feeling 🙂 I often wonder what on earth I am doing and what am I doing on earth!? haha
        Do whatever you feel interested in. Try something new. Try different things until you find something you really like. You are good at a lot of things! There’s no telling what you could accomplish!
        I look at it this way when it comes to obstacles: I could do nothing and still have the obstacle or I could try something new and work around the obstacle. The obstacle tends to fade into the background the more interested I become in something. The obstacle does not define me! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you for the encouragement. 🙂

          If we could have picked the planet to live on, I wonder which one we would have chosen? 🙂

          I understand what you’re saying, but what if the obstacle comes in the form of blindness, or hands twisted by arthritis, or dementia, or COPD, or things like that? Obstacles that induce extreme physical (or mental) limitations..then what? I know how to make the pain fade into the background. I’ve had to do that for years. But I don’t know how to make some of the other things get out of the way. I definitely want to! “NO! has never been my favorite word, unless, of course, I was the one saying it. haha

          Like

Leave a Reply

