Share Your World

To learn more about this fun weekly event, click the image below.

9de06-cees_share-your-world_041514-sywbannerDo you prefer juice or fruit?

I like both fruit and fruit juice. I have allergies to many fruits, so no matter which form I consume, I have to be very careful.  I would prefer a banana over banana-flavored anything else.  I love both oranges and orange juice, but I cannot have either one due to allergic reactions.  I prefer pineapples over the juice, but I love the juice, too.  It is just too hard to decide an across-the-board preference.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

I spent my young childhood in a mill village on the south side of Anderson, South Carolina.  Anderson was a decent sized town and had lots of things to do.  The summer that I turned 13, we moved to the little town of Starr, South Carolina. We didn’t actually live in the town proper, but in the outlying area between south Anderson and Starr.  It was a rural area and we lived right beside a cow pasture for the local dairy farm.  Except for the people, this location was great. When I say that I grew up in the woods, it is this place that I am referring to.  The dairy family were nice folks, but the people in the subdivision across from our property were a whole ‘nother story entirely. Overall, I prefer small towns over cities and I definitely prefer a rural life over a town life! Give me a place way out in the boonies and I’ll be as happy as a pig in mud. 🙂

If you were to paint a picture of your childhood, what colors would you use?

Black and blue and red.  I was forever getting my face slapped (Mama) or punched (bullies at school) and hit in one way or another by jerks at school. Spankings were a fairly common occurrence, whether I was the one to earn the spanking or not.

be_still_coloring_page_webWays to Relax List: Make a list of what relaxes you and helps you feel calm.

I like to read, crochet, and now, I like coloring again. I love to take nature photos and research family history. I would add knitting to that list except that knitting is not at all relaxing for me.  I have yet to learn how to properly unknit and start over without having to just unravel the whole thing. I love going for rides out in the country to see the pretty scenery and I love walking through cemeteries. Both of those are very relaxing for me usually.   All of these things relax me to one degree or the other, while also exciting me in ways that I cannot put into words.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am thankful for the calm that I have regarding the potential loss of vision. There are still some moments of total panic when I realize the fund isn’t growing and knowing what that potentially means: No surgery.  But, overall, I am calm and know that things will be fine whether the surgery happens or not.

I am thankful that now both of our daughters are able to be back at school pursuing their futures in some very exciting fields.  Potential is all around them.  I am thankful that our Marine continues to shine and impress those above him, though I’d be happy if he shined a little less so they’d let him come back stateside. He’s doing so great at his job that they want to keep him in Japan!

I am looking forward to the few moments that I will be able to sit down and relax. Over the next month, those moments are going to be very few and far between.  I am also looking forward to finding some tutorials about creating book covers.  I want to try to make my own actual, not digital, journal, but I don’t know what to make a book cover out of. So, I am hoping to find information about how to do that.  If any of you know how to do this, please tell me!  Thanks.

Have a blessed day, y’all!

Please be sure to read David’s post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Cee's Share Your World, Share Your World and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Share Your World

  1. We do have some amazing kids. I love you. ZIng! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    I forget about coloring. I have al the stuff….thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Keeping you in prayer…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Davy D says:

    More interesting insights into what shaped the poet and writer. Thank you for sharing Suzanne and have a blessed day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pattisj says:

    This reminds me that I’m late getting to SYW this week! Your childhood colors are in tune with thoughts I had recently. Why is it all the negative things of childhood surface more readily than the happy times? There are all kinds of ways to make a cover for a book! Look for art journaling; book binding; book covers–on YouTube. There are a lot of options from starting from scratch to decorating the cover of a notebook (or whatever you decide to use). Praying for Divine provision for your surgery.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was beginning to wonder if I’d be able to get my SYW posted at all this week. Thankfully, I was able to squeeze it and a couple of other posts in on my other blogs. I’ll look for your post. 🙂

      I often wonder that, too. I can remember more bad things than good things, but, even with that, I have blocked out a good bit of my childhood, both good and bad. This makes me wonder what I am forgetting, what could have been worse than the bad things that I do remember? Whatever they are, I hope they stay buried. I’m sorry that you had bad experiences, too.

      Thank you for the search suggestions for YouTube regarding the book covers. Thank you also for the prayers. I appreciate them very much. Have a blessed evening. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

