Friendly Fill-Ins

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_Badge 

Here are the fill-in-the-blanks:

  1. My guiding word for 2017 is_______________________.
  2. _____________________________________class reunion.
  3. Truth be told I am superstitious about ___________.
  4. Lately, I have been ______________________________.

Here are my responses:

My guiding word for 2017 is Vision. You can read a little about it here.

suz_at_1993_crescentreunion_web

I am happy to never go to another class reunion. I accomplished what I needed to at the last one. That was in 1993, my ten-year high school reunion. It was shortly after our daughter was stillborn. After all the years of tormenting those people put me through, I made sure that they would notice me every time they took out their reunion picture. Rather than hiding in the shadows like I tried to do throughout high school, I made sure that I was front and center of that photo.

I don’t know that I am particularly superstitious about anything. When I was a kid, we did the whole “step on a crack, break your mama’s back” thing, so I avoided stepping on cracks in the sidewalk.  That wasn’t so much out of superstition as just playing along with the game. I do believe in ghosts, but that doesn’t have anything to do with superstition so much as believing what the Bible says. The Bible says not to be calling up spirits. If there were no such things as ghosts, the Bible wouldn’t be telling us to leave them alone, now would it?

Lately, I have been driven to get some things done before I can no longer do them.  You can read more about that at Vision Post #1.

_________________________

Please be sure to read David’s Friendly Fill-Ins post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins, Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins

  1. You done good getting out in front of everyone like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kapitola says:

    I wish you luck! We could all use a little more vision!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Vision is a wonderful word. I read your previous post and cannot even start to imagine how difficult it must be to be facing this. I am not the praying kind, but I do wish you all the best! I think getting out in front of you former classmates is a good and brave thing you did. I was always shy during school and certainly have changed a lot, but I am not sure I’d be doing what you did.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Claudia. 🙂 I appreciate the good wishes very much.

      I think that at the reunion was a once-in-a-lifetime moment for me. I am painfully shy and always have been…well, since first grade, anyway. I can’t imagine that I would be able to put myself in front of everyone like that now. I don’t know what got into me the day that I did it except for a heaping dose of “enough already!”

      When your “enough already” moment comes, you’ll know it and you’ll be ready for it. 🙂

      Have a blessed day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

