Friendly Fill-Ins 16 December 2016

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_Badge
The fill-in-the-blanks:

1. My favorite Christmas Song(s) is/are_____________, but I could do without hearing ___________ ever again.
2. My most meaningful Christmas ornament/decoration is ____________, because _____________.
3. My favourite holiday treat is____________________.
4. A holiday tradition in my house is ____________________.

My responses:

There are many Christmas songs that I love: Silent Night, Away in a Manager, Mary Did You Know?, O Little Town of Bethlehem, Little Drummer Boy, What Child is This. The one that I could do without ever hearing again is Grandma Got Runover by a Reindeer.

I loved the ornaments we had for the kids for their first Christmases. However, one year they took down the tree and I haven’t seen those ornaments since. Each year, we try to buy an angel, either an ornament or a tree topper, to commemorate our angel baby Dorian who was stillborn 15 July 1993.

Christmas dinner here is a repeat of Thanksgiving! I love those foods very much and consider that whole meal a treat.

Every year, at some point between Thanksgiving and Christmas, we watch the original Miracle on 34th Street and It’s a Wonderful Life. We always ring in the New Year with a kiss, even though the New Year’s night between 2012 and 2013 got interrupted by a blasted nurse walking in just as the ball dropped, so I missed seeing it drop that night. That was the only one that I didn’t see in our 32 years together so far. We still got our kiss that night, though. She didn’t rob me of that. 🙂

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins 16 December 2016

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    As I recall, we wanted to drop that nurse out the window. I love you my Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Suzanne, I always thought Grandma Got Ran Over By a Reindeer was a hoot as a kid. It still puts a smile on my face when I hear it today. With the announcement of parenthood, we began getting a special ornament with that year we got a Lenox porcelain teddy bear ornament. I hand-painted the year on it. We got all three of the kiddos one of these to signify they were apart of those Christmases while in the womb. Also, we use to get a pewter bell from a little shop in Pigeon Forge that we had personalized (inside of the realm with a message like Christmas 1988 with Mommy, Daddy, and DD#1). We did that until they closed shop. The owners were a part of our extended family – very nice people! I love peppermint candy, too. In fact, I make my own Peppermint Patties (DH renamed them to Peppermint Cathys). Christmas dinner is a repeat of Thanksgiving. It’s perfect for both occasions, so why change a thing? 🙂 Next week, I’m taking a break in blogging until after the first of the year. I have scheduled posts and committed to hosting Monday’s Music Moves Me hop, so I will do that much and will try to respond to comments and do revisits as time allows. Let me just say now, have a very Merry Christmas and may 2017 bring continued happiness, love, and good health!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know what I thought of the Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer song as a kid. I don’t remember liking it then. It just makes me cry now, thinking of my grandma and granny.
      I bet those ornaments are beautiful and I know they are precious treasures.
      I think it is cute that your DH changed the candy name to Peppermint Cathys. 🙂
      I agree. Thanksgiving dinner is perfect for Christmas dinner, so no need to change it. Personally, I could eat it every week. 🙂
      I will likely be backing off of the computer a bit in efforts to reduce strain on my eyes. It will possibly mean giving up on my goal of a post a day for a year, but I’ve made it almost six months. I tried.
      Thank you! I hope that you and your family have a very Merry Christmas and a 2017 full of love, family, health, hope, and happiness. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Annie says:

    I love all the Christmas songs you mentioned. Your #2 is precious. I also love Thanksgiving-meal food. That’s what we’re having for our Christmas meal too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

