December at McClendon Villa: Day 15

graveyard-1417871_400_web

Image source: Pixabay

A plot of earth to call my own,
Dig my fingers into the dirt,
Watch a beautiful flower grow,
Is something I will never own.
Tucked away, hidden from the hurt,
A four by eight is all I’ll know.

©15 December 2016 Suzanne G. McClendon

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 2017, December at McClendon Villa, Grief, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to December at McClendon Villa: Day 15

  1. Vanessence says:

    Wow, that is very intense!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Vanessa. I am dealing with some very intense emotions right now and don’t quite know what to do with them. Grief is a weird thing. It has one raging and crying at the same time, and so confused one doesn’t really know which way to turn.
      Have a blessed weekend and a very Merry Christmas. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Vanessence says:

        I’m so sorry sweetie. I’ve been really struggling to keep up with blogs lately and didn’t realize you were going through some difficult times. 😦 Please forgive me!

        Yes, grief is a weird thing. Sometimes it’s like you have it all under control (the emotions) and then it jumps up and hits you in the face when you least expect it. I used to think that grief was something you “got through,” but I have come to realize that no, it’s something that becomes part of you, it’s just more demanding on some occasions than others, even years later.

        I will be praying for you, that you find the comfort and strength you need to handle this beastie. If there’s anything else I can do, please drop me an email. hugs

        Liked by 2 people

        • Thank you, Vanessa. December is a difficult month on its own, thinking about my daddy. But, Monday I got diagnosed with cataracts in both eyes and am trying to process all of that and what it could mean for my/our future, especially if we can’t raise the money for the surgery. There are just so many things hitting at once that I almost feel like I will explode.
          You have nothing to be sorry for at all. I understand struggling to keep up. Lives are busy, stuff happens. You’re good. 🙂 I appreciate the prayers very much. They are the only way we’re going to get through this current challenge. Hugs back to you and if there’s anything I can do for you, please let me know. ❤ Have a blessed weekend and a very Merry Christmas!

          Liked by 1 person

          • Vanessence says:

            Sometimes the waves that hit us seem overwhelming, don’t they? I’m sorry things seem to be going that way for you right now. I know it’s of small comfort, but this too shall pass. I will be praying they pass sooner rather than later! hugs

            Liked by 1 person

          • I’m definitely all for sooner! I’m about ready to explode as it is. Thanks for your comforting words. I hope that you have a blessed week and a very Merry Christmas. 🙂 ❤

            Like

  2. kiwinana says:

    Sorry to hear you are going through troubling times, I guessed there was something wrong a while ago by your writing. Try to stay strong.
    Blessings and may your weekend be perfect, free from stress.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Elsie. I appreciate this very much. I am trying, but since Monday’s diagnosis, it is taking all I have not to spend all day crying. It will be okay, though. One way or the other, it will be okay. I don’t need to be able to see to compose poetry. Who knows, maybe this will cause even more to be written.
      How are you doing? You’re in my prayers. I hope that you have a blessed, perfect weekend, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    I am here for you. I love you. Zing! Zing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

