Uninvited: Living Loved When You Feel Less Than, Left Out, and Lonely By Lysa TerKeurst

_225_350_book-1988-coverLysa TerKeurst has faced more than her fair share of rejection, as have many of us.  This book discusses ways to get through those moments of feeling rejected and set aside, focusing on the love that our Heavenly Father has for us. The message is that we are loved by the one Who matters most.

This was a very interesting book. Though I had to do so often, I didn’t want to put it down. I wanted to read it straight through in one sitting.  I wanted to find the answers, the solutions, to the emptiness and loneliness.

This book was an inspiration to me to try to narrow my focus on Heavenly Father and to build a closer relationship with Him. He is the only one who can fill the void left behind by the rejection of other humans across my life.

TerKeurst made me think a lot about the way I perceive other people and their affect on my life.  I can continue to see them as a threat to the life that I want or I can see that they have a job to do here. The enemy isn’t the other person; it is satan and his lies that say I am a nobody and unwanted.  Any hurts the other person is causing me is because of him and the hold he has on this earth. The battle is against him.

Many Bible verses and prayers are offered throughout this book to help us deepen our relationship with Heavenly Father and to see ourselves as set apart, not set aside.  He created us. He wants us by His side.  He is on our side.

I recommend this book to anyone struggling with the feelings of rejection and loneliness. It gives a great deal to ponder.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, BookLook Blogger. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Uninvited: Living Loved When You Feel Less Than, Left Out, and Lonely By Lysa TerKeurst

  1. Set apart, not set aside. I love that. This sounds like one I should read. Love you, Sis! You will always be important to me. Even when I’m crazy busy over here a few states and a Gulf away.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Sis. I think that you would enjoy this book. I’ve just got to work harder to apply its concepts to my own life. After yesterday’s news, that’s even harder.
      I love you, too, and am so blessed to have you in my life. I couldn’t imagine a life without my Sis in it. 🙂 Thank you for everything and have a blessed day.

      Like

  2. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Suz,
    God is our rock, but I am here for you, too. I love you. Zing Zing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

