December at McClendon Villa: Day 9 – Friendly Fill-Ins

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_BadgeThe fill-in-the-blanks:

1. I love the following Christmas film(s) ________________.
2. I don’t care for the following Christmas film(s) .
3. At the holidays, I cannot resist __________.
4. A favourite holiday memory of mine is ___________.

 

My responses:

jared-suzanne-1st-christmas_frame_webMiracle on 34th Street and It’s a Wonderful Life have been my favorite Christmas movies since I was a little girl.

I can’t think of any that I don’t like. The Christmas cartoons are nice (at least the ones from my childhood. I don’t know what’s out there now.) The only ones that I remember specifically as Christmas movies are Miracle on 34th Street and It’s a Wonderful Life. What else is there?

I’m getting pretty good at resisting a lot of things these days. Food isn’t one of them. Thanksgiving/Christmas/New Year’s food are always my downfall. At least it is a well-cushioned fall! 🙂

A favorite Christmas memory of mine would have to be our first Christmas as parents. We were on top of the world; nothing was stopping us. We didn’t know the horrible sadness that was just around the corner. We splurged and got that boy way more than any child needed, because we could…and then, there were the grandparents, who weren’t skimpy either. No Christmas since has been the same.

Please be sure to visit David over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to December at McClendon Villa: Day 9 – Friendly Fill-Ins

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    That was a great Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Suzanne, Although you don’t say in this post what happened, I think I know and oh how my heart aches. I just love the pull telephone toy! I remember those all too well not only from my childhood but I think we may have gotten one for our oldest, too. Oh wait, no we didn’t get one for her. I think we couldn’t find it but we did get her a dog pull toy, though. Christmas through the eyes of kids is the best experience anyone can have, isn’t it? All lovely responses to your fill-ins!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Cathy. Yes, it was David’s daddy dying. It was one of the saddest moments in our lives. Daddies are supposed to live forever and grandpas with two new grandsons are supposed to live forever.
      I remembered the pull telephones from my own childhood in the pediatricians office. It’s a classic as is the doggie. 🙂 Do you remember the Tupperware Shape-O toy? I remember those from times past, too, and had to get one for him. Did your little girl like the dog pull toy? I know our oldest would have! She loved dogs so much that she trained Davey and Maggie to be her puppies. She named them “Snippy” and “Sniffy”. haha
      Oh yes, Christmas through a child’s eyes is the best!
      Thank you! I hope that you have a great night and a blessed week. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

