It’s All Over…

…but the crying now.

The duck is flying.
The hound is mad.
The election’s over.
And, boy, I’m glad!

©9 November 2016 Suzanne G. McClendon

I think I am more glad than I’ve ever been for an election to be over with.  I would like to think, now that it’s over, the bickering will be over, too.  But, I know now the second wave of arguing and nastiness starts.

My first choice didn’t win.  He withdrew quite some time ago.  My second choice didn’t win either.  He withdrew quite some time ago, too. The same with my third and fourth choices.  My final choice was a write-in candidate, Darrel Castle.  He didn’t win, but as I understand it, he made a pretty good showing in some states. Maybe next time there will be a Castle in the White House. 🙂

Have a blessed day, all, and may God bless America!

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in America, Elections, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s All Over…

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Cryptic and right on the mark. Great post.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. My first choice (Cruz) dropped out as well…and then it became clear to me, I ought to just hold my nose and vote along party line. Shocking end, for sure…and the sore looser, truly is a sore looser…just saying. I think a tad bit of graciousness would of gone a long way.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I could have written this post word for word. Not that I am surprised by that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

