Friendly Fill-Ins – 14 October 2016

This is a fun meme co-hosted by McGuffy’s Reader and 15 and Meowing. Be sure to visit and join in the fun!

Friday_Fill-In_BadgeThe fill-in-the-blanks:

  1. It is good to have a spare _______________________________________.
  2. I don’t understand why ____________________ is/are so popular.
  3. The spookiest thing that ever happened to me was ___________________.
  4. My favourite Halloween tale is __________________________________.

My responses:

It is good to have a spare set of keys to the house and car. You never know when you might lock yourself out of one or the other.

I don’t understand why things with “screens” are so popular to the exclusion of actual human interaction.  Why do people have such a problem with interacting with a person literally right there in the same room with them? We have seen at least one marriage destroyed because one person wanted to spend all of their time together with his face in a screen rather than on a pillow with his spouse or talking across the table during mealtime with his wife. He couldn’t get away from life on the phone or video games long enough to actually live.

The spookiest thing that ever happened to me was when I saw the lady on my wall after watching the show “The Song of Bernadette” as a little girl. I didn’t understand the movie, which was about the Virgin Mary and a girl’s vision. I’ve since been told that perhaps a vision of her is what I saw, too.  It was scary to me at the time because I didn’t understand what was happening. This was the most realistic of those types of things that have happened to me. There have been many spooky things happen over the course of my life. I had lots of nightmares as a child and hallucinations due to severe anemia oftentimes haven’t been any less spooky.

My favorite Halloween tale is …I don’t know that I have a favorite and I’m not really sure how this question is meant.  I like the Sleepy Hollow story, but I also like stories like The Golden Arm and Crybaby Bridge.

 

Please be sure to visit David over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Friday Fill-Ins, Friendly Fill-Ins, Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friendly Fill-Ins – 14 October 2016

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    You never can have too many sets of keys. Don’t leave home without them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My spare keys are in the house so if I lock myself out I’m out of luck 😀
    Completely agree about the screens! A few years ago I attended a birthday dinner. Everyone was very busy texting to each instead of talking to each other or eating! I don’t use a mobile phone so all I could say (to myself) is “more food for me” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Some people hide them in flower pots and other things outside. I think there needs to be somewhere else that we can keep spare keys, but I don’t think flower pots are good ideas. Everybody knows to look there. Plus, here in TX, the coral snakes love to hang out in flower pots.

      David and I both have a full set of keys and try to make sure we each have our keys when we leave the house. It is very upsetting to be locked out of either the house or the car.
      I’m glad there was more food for you at that party. 🙂 Too bad for the other folks that their priorities weren’t in order.
      Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, on every show when people look for keys they are under the flower pot, under the door mat or on top of the door! Which always makes me wonder, why lock the door if you are leaving the key where people can find it. Of course, coral snakes would deter people from looking under the flower pots LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

