Not-So-Wordless Wednesday

To learn more about this challenge, please click here.

aunts_pauline_and_dolly_pressley

Aunt Pauline is probably the oldest relative that I remember meeting. Not necessarily age-wise, but generation wise. She was the sister of my maternal great-grandfather Julius Jared Pressley.  Aunt Pauline and Aunt “Dolly” (the nickname for Margaret Elizabeth) were daughters of Richard Simpson and Philadelphia Isabella Evatt Pressley.  Aunt Pauline was their youngest child.

When I was a little girl, we would go to visit Aunt Pauline. She lived in what had been her brother’s house (James Franklin Pressley). She lived in the same neighborhood where I grew up just a few streets behind our house.  Her street was Vandiver Street.  What I remember about her was it seemed like she was a hundred years old. She was a very sweet lady and I think she was one that helped instill the love of the elderly in me.  She was also very forgetful.  I don’t know if it was age, or Alzheimer’s, or if she, too, had a brain tumor like my Aunt Mae did.

I called her “Aunt” just like I did Aunt Rose (who was really my grandma’s first cousin), but I didn’t realize her true relationship to me until I was an adult and further into my family history research. I always just thought she was a sweet older friend of my mama’s.  As a child, I didn’t realize that she really was my aunt.  Many Southern children call older people aunt or uncle, even though there are no familial ties.

I remember once my mama gave Aunt Pauline a picture of me and my siblings. She put it in Aunt Pauline’s billfold for her.  Aunt Pauline kept asking about the picture, where it was, etc.  I didn’t understand at that point why she couldn’t remember.  I have had much experience with these types of memory problems since then. My grandma Maggie, the daughter of Julius Jared Pressley, had Alzheimer’s.

Aunt Pauline was born 19 September 1894, never married,  and died 14 December 1981. She is buried at the Silverbrook Cemetery, now known as the Old Silverbrook Cemetery, in Anderson, South Carolina.

 

Curious-as-a-Cathy_not-soWW3_Fotor

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in Not-So-Wordless Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not-So-Wordless Wednesday

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    Sounds like a beautiful memory of times gone by.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Suzanne, what an interesting bit of family history! It’s hard to believe your aunt never married. That was considered unusual for her times. DH has a paternal uncle who’s never married. He’s in his upper 80s. I figured he knew no one woman could put up with the way he did things and he didn’t want to spend his life being nagged all the time. lol Love the photo – priceless!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Cathy. Back in those days, school teachers were not allowed to be married. So, this makes me wonder if Aunt Pauline had been a school teacher. This is something that I plan to investigate further. It could be that she had a beau that she loved dearly that died in military service and she stayed true to him. There are so many possible reasons. I just hope to one day figure it out. It will be fun researching, in any case.
      Have you ever asked the uncle why he never married? Maybe it could be like you supposed or maybe he loved a girl that died, or didn’t love him back and couldn’t see himself with anyone else. There are so many stories that we lose when these folks go to their rewards.
      Thanks for this challenge. Have a blessed day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

