September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 27

To learn more about this challenge and to see all of the questions, please click here.

19-Somethin_Sidebar_Button

27. What do you remember the most from the year that you turned 19? What was going on in your life back then?

1984 was the year that I turned 19.  That year held lots of new and big things for me. I started college in the spring session of 1984.  I got my driver’s license that year.  I got married that year.  That is also the year that I first saw my daddy cry.

Please add the link to your 19-Somethin’ post in the comment section or to the linky on the challenge page. Thanks!

Please be sure to read David’s 19-Somethin’ post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 19-Somethin, September 19-Somethin'. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 27

  1. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    It is difficult to see a daddy cry.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ghostmmnc says:

    So, you got married when you were 19, too! 🙂 Do you think many people do that these days, or mostly wait until they’re older? I know my in-laws thought my girls were doomed old maids, when they hadn’t gotten married by 15. That’s how they did it in their family. I just can’t imagine that. haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know that many folks even bother with marriage these days. There’s all this ‘baby mama’ and ‘baby daddy’ business going on. I don’t think that many young people see any point in getting married. It is very sad, really.

      I knew David when I was 15 (I was 14 when we first met). At 15, I would have been willing to run him over with my daddy’s ’57 Chevy, he’d hurt my feelings that badly with something he said not long after we’d met. But, by the time we had our first date, I was willing to let him live. haha

      I think that 19 is a pretty good age for getting married. Did it hurt your girls’ feelings to know their relatives thought of them as old maids?

      15 is pretty young to be getting married, but it is how it was done back in the time when our life expectancy was minimal. They wanted to make sure they got a houseful of babies made before the woman died, I guess.

      What is the youngest marriage age in your family history that you know of? Now, I’m going to have to look it up on our family tree, too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • ghostmmnc says:

        You are right about people not bothering with getting married these days. At least for some. I guess 15 was the earliest I know of for getting married in any of our relatives. My girls just thought it was crazy that that side of the family would suggest marriage at 15! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

