September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 17

To learn more about this challenge, please click here.

19-Somethin_Sidebar_Button

17. Do you remember where you were and/or what you were doing when the Space Shuttle Challenger exploded?  This happened on 28 January 1986.  Were there any big events going on in your personal life at the time?

Yes, I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing and what big thing was going on in my life at the time.  I was mid-trimester in my first pregnancy.  I was at home cleaning the house. I was standing in front of the entertainment center/bookshelf thingy dusting and straightening things and watching the news.

Then, there it was, big as day, those poor people getting blown to smithereens right in front of America as they looked on and could do nothing about it. I started bawling my eyes out and called David at work to tell him what had happened.  I don’t remember what happened immediately after I called him, but I do remember days, weeks, maybe even months, of that scene being played out on the television, a constant reminder of the awful death those poor astronauts endured.  It was probably the most traumatic event in my life that did not involve one of my loved ones.

Please add the link to your 19-Somethin’ post in the comment section or to the linky on the challenge page. Thanks!

Please be sure to read David’s 19-Somethin’ post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving children and one child-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 19-Somethin, September 19-Somethin'. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 17

  1. I was in community college and had just taken the children out (I also worked in the college day care)to watch the Challenger, as Ocala is not far from Kennedy…what a sad day…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww I imagine seeing that upset them very much, and you, too. How did you settle them back down afterwards? Yes, it was a very sad day. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • you know. I don’t think really they were affected by it…most of them were asking why there was a smoke in the sky…I remember, the school closed for the rest of the day…and I think for a couple of days.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Maybe they were too little to understand it was something bad. It is probably a good thing.

          I read something earlier in an old newspaper from, I think, the 1930s, where a man killed his wife by shooting her and slashing her throat and did the same thing to their 15 year old daughter and then to himself. All three died. Then, the 11 year old son came home from school to find what was left of them. Can you imagine? That poor boy. 😦

          Like

  2. Pingback: 19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY # 17 | teleportingweena

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    I imagine the shock of seeing the shuttle explode on live TV, much like 9-11, has effected people all over the world. That they play these scenes over and over…sometimes it’s just too much, when we are trying to come to grips with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ghostmmnc says:

    I agree with you. And even recently for the anniversary of 9-11 they kept playing them again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

