September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 16

To learn more about this challenge, please click here.

19-Somethin_Sidebar_Button

16. Who was your favorite TV character? What did you like about them? Who did you like the least?

I *loved* Ben Cartwright from Bonanza.  I thought that he was a beautiful man.  I loved his silvery hair and his voice and the fact that he was a real man. He didn’t shy away from what needed to be done, even the hard stuff.  The fact that he had a huge ranch out in the middle of nowhere was a big plus, too.

The character that I liked the least…I can think of two: Nellie and Nancy Olsen from Little House on the Prairie.  They were real brats! But, one that I absolutely, totally loathed was the man that attacked Sylvia on one of the Little House episodes.  Unfortunately, I hold that character against the actor himself and can’t stand watching him in anything since that Little House episode.

 

Please add the link to your 19-Somethin’ post in the comment section or to the linky on the challenge page. Thanks!

Please be sure to read David’s 19-Somethin’ post over at Random Thoughts and Observations.

About Suzanne Gunter McClendon

I am a South Carolina native now living on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have been married to David for just over 32 years. We have 4 surviving adult children and two children-in-law. At this point in our lives, we are adjusting to an empty nest. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, digital art, fiber arts, and much, much more.
This entry was posted in 19-Somethin, September 19-Somethin'. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to September 19-Somethin’ Challenge: Day 16

  1. rosemawrites says:

    I am not into watching TV…. but there’s an American show I love a lot and it’s America’s Next Top Model. 😉 And I love Tyra Banks. I love her fierceness and also her being determined. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Davy D says:

    Bonanza, that has brought back some childhood memories. I was more a High Chaparral fan as a child. I had an uncle who was obsessed with American Western films and series. Thanks for igniting some happy memories Suzanne. Have a great and blessed weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember the name High Chaparral, but I don’t remember if I ever watched it. I watched Bonanza and Big Valley and a few others whose names escape me at the moment.
      You’re welcome, Davey. I am glad to bring back happy memories.
      Thank you. You have a great and blessed week, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    I think we watched all the westerns on TV back then. Bonanza was a favorite. I liked Little Joe (Michael Landon) the best. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I thought he was cute, too. But Lorne Greene beat him out. 🙂 Hoss was a teddy bear. Adam was bossy. I thought Michael Landon was great as Pa Ingalls on Little House on the Prairie. Did you know that the guy who played Hoss was a school teacher? If I remember right, he was a math teacher. He was discovered while he and his family were on vacation in California.
      Have a blessed day!

      Liked by 1 person

      • ghostmmnc says:

        Dan Blocker ‘Hoss’ was fun to watch on Bonanza. The best episode I remember was when he thought he saw a leprechaun! He was a Texan, and grew up in O’Donnell, TX, not far from here. … Little House series was always a favorite show, too!

        Liked by 1 person

        • They were both wonderful shows. They just don’t make them like that anymore, unfortunately. How cool that Dan Blocker grew up in Texas. He always seemed like a big teddy bear to me, so sweet. It seemed it wasn’t just his Hoss character, but the actor himself. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  4. leendadll says:

    I remember nellie but not the other characters.

    My answer is embedded in my daily rambling: https://leendadll.wordpress.com/2016/09/16/32950/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nancy came along to the Olsen household after Nellie left home. She was a little blonde, too, and I think brattier than Nellie. Thanks for sharing your link here. I’ll head there now. Have a blessed weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      • leendadll says:

        btw: I extra-enjoyed your answer because I was thinking about the Little House hillside (with the yellow flowers… mustard?) while walking into work. The weather feels right for those flowers to bloom but their season was spring and they only lasted a couple weeks this year.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’m glad that you enjoyed my answer. I loved Little House on the Prairie. It was my favorite show overall back then. That field they ran through was beautiful. I wanted to run through it, too. It would be nice if the spring flowers could last just a little longer than they do.
          Have a great weekend. 🙂

          Like

  5. Pingback: 19 SOMETHIN’ SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE – DAY # 16 | teleportingweena

Leave a Reply

